Skip to main content
Banner Image

FES Current News Sources: General Newspaper Access

Guide to daily newspapers and magazines of interest to Forestry and Environmental Studies Students

General Help

Yale University Library has access to many print newspapers. The largest number of titles is found in the Franke Periodical Reading Room of the Sterling Memorial Library. Other libraries carry some of the major titles as well. Search in Orbis to find titles of interest and locations.

The New York Times print edition (current issues only) is available at SML, Franke Periodical Reading Room and at the Medical Library, Leisure Reading Room.

 

Using Yale e-resources to get Today's Newspapers

 

Library PressDisplay - Online access to over 2000 newspapers from more than 55 countries, displayed in their original image format and accessible by country, language, or title. The library offers access to Library Press Display on four dedicated terminals in the Franke Periodical Reading Room on the first floor of Sterling Memorial Library. The library’s subscription allows for a limited number of Yale users from outside the library, available on a first come, first serve basis. U.S. newspapers include The Washington Post, Chicago Sun-Times, Los Angeles Times, San Francisco Chronicle, New Haven Register, USA Today, along with hundreds of regional and local newspapers.

Factiva - The database makes available articles in full text searchable by topic or date range. It is a database of over 8,000 business and news publications, most in full text. If you choose the News Pages tab, then choose from the pull-down list for the  link to the United States - Academic Newsstand – here you can view all of the major articles from today’s editions of the following:   Wall Street Journal,  New York Times,  St. Louis Post-Dispatch,  Washington Post,  San Francisco Chronicle,  Barron’s,  Forbes  You can also choose U.S. and get a slightly different list of today’s newspapers. If you choose Top Business News or Top World News you get groups of articles sorted by sub-groups all from today’s newspapers.

LexisNexis Academic Searchable Database that provides full-text access to a wide range of U.S. and international newspapers, radio and television transcripts.  It provides access to publications and information sources in a variety of fields, including: newspapers, newsletters, magazines, business and trade journals, wire services, and broadcast transcripts. International resources in French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch and German.

The New York Times is available online (searchable by issue) through many sources, including LexisNexis Academic, Factiva (choose the News Pages tab, then United States - Academic, to get Front page articles from the current day.  Click on the titles to read the articles or use the drop-down menus to view other sections of the paper or to do the same with editions from the previous two weeks. Earlier editions can be searched via the Search Builder.), and  ProQuest Newstand National Newspapers (1980-present)

Financial Times - Yale subscription; register to get full access: online and mobile

Financial Times is available 1996 - one month ago   

Financial Times Historical Archive - 1888-2010

BrowZine - for iPad or Android tablet. Access to thousands of academic journals.
  Get Started here: Download BrowZine App

 

Forestry & Environmental Studies Librarian

Carla Heister
Contact:
Center for Science & Social Science Information (CSSSI)
219 Prospect St., PO Box 208111
(203) 432-5132