Resources for students enrolled in Professor Paul Freedman's Humanities 437b/History 212J6
- The Menu Collection of The New York Public Library
The New York Public Library owns one of the largest historical collections of menus in the world, and many of the items are available in this digital collection.
- University of Houston Digital Menus from the 1850s-1860s
These mid nineteenth century menus located in the Hospitality Industry Archives, at the Hilton College of the University of Houston reveal a treasure trove of historical information. The menus relate not only the regional cuisine of the particular restaurant but also show some of the cultural and social norms of society. The menus are from hotel restaurants, stand alone restaurants and steamships.
- Nicole Di Bona Peterson Collection of Advertising Cookbooks (1878 - 1929)
Digital collection from the Duke University Library
- Menus: The Art of Dining, from the UNLV Library
Excellent digital archive from UNLV's Bohn-Bettoni Collection, which is especially strong for the period between 1870-1930.
- University of Washington
This collection represents menus, placemats, and other graphic materials from many of the Puget Sound area's most famous restaurants and dining facilities in the years between 1889 and 2003.
- Miss Frank E. Buttolph American Menu Collection, 1851-1930
The menu collection originated through the energetic efforts of Miss Frank E. Buttolph (1850-1924), a somewhat mysterious and passionate figure, whose mission in life was to collect menus.
- Digital Menus from the Los Angeles Public Library
This is a database of menus stored in the Rare Book Room of the Central Library of the Los Angeles Public Library
- Nestle Library Digital Menu Collection, Cornell University
The Nestlé Library collects menus from a wide variety of restaurants; everything from fine dining to quick service.
- Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project
The Feeding America project has created an online collection of some of the most important and influential American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century. The digital archive includes page images of 76 cookbooks from the Michigan State Library's collection.
- Feeding Michigan
Digital cookbooks from Michigan
- Indiana Cookbooks
The digital collection of cookbooks is a collaborative effort between the University Library and the Indianapolis Marion County Public Library and will focus on Indiana cookbooks dating from the turn-of-the-century, with a special emphasis on fundraising cookbooks published by churches, synagogues and other community organizations.
- Badger Bites: University of Wisconsin-Madison Cookbooks
Over the course of University history numerous campus-related organizations produced cookbooks. Containing more than just recipes, these cookbooks provide a look at how food has played a role in campus culture and identity. Whether designed for fundraising or for promotional purposes they capture a snapshot view of campus organizations of yore and the cultural environment surrounding them.
- Alice Statler menu collection (Northern California)
The Alice Statler menu collection characterizes the culinary life of San Francisco and Northern California from 1920 to the present, but it also contains a large number of items from throughout the United States.
- Rusty Thomas Menu Collection - Hawaii
Harriet Thomas, dubbed "Rusty" for her flaming red hair, was the food editor at the Honolulu Star-Bulletin from 1949 to 1964, during which time she began collecting menus from her dining experiences, many of which are available in this digital collection.
- Colorado Menus Collection
Digital menus from Colorado.
- Henry Voigt's Blog - The American Menu
- Food News, 1940-1949
- Wine and Food (London, England)
Various issues, 1937-1962
- Good Housekeeping, 1916-Present
- American Kitchen Magazine, 1895-1903
- The Boston Cooking School magazine of culinary science and domestic economics
- Historical Cookbook of the American Negro (1958)
- Foods and Health Handbook for 4-H Club Girls (1941)
- Meat: Selection, Preparation and Many Ways to Serve (1934)
- World War I Collection
Ration books, menus, and posters depicting food policy are included in this collection.
- Arthur Willert Collection
Series three of this collection contains menus from various functions attended by Arthur Willert, a British journalist stationed in the U.S. with the London Time during the 1920s and 1930s.
- Todd-Bingham Memorabilia Collection
Collection of menus dating from 1880-1936 are in Box 15 of this memorabilia collection.
- Connecticut Training School for Nurses Records and Memorabilia
Food recipes for invalids dating from 1892 are to be found in Box 19 of this collection.
- Alsop Family Papers, 1772-1914
Recipes can be found in Box 40 of this collection as well as in Boxes 2 & 3 of the 1987-M-071 Accession.
- Records of the Treasurer, Yale University
Contains records from the commons dining hall.
- Guy Metraux Collection
Menus for WWII POWs are included in this collection.
- Bloodroot Collective
The Bloodroot Collective, a feminist-lesbian work collective formed in 1977, grew out of a women's cooperative exchange hosted by Selma Miriam in her Westport, Connecticut, home between 1975 and 1976. The collective opened Bloodroot, a vegetarian restaurant and feminist bookstore, at 85 Ferris Street, Bridgeport, Connecticut, in March 1977. At the suggestion of animal rights activist friends, the group decided to focus on providing seasonal vegetarian food.
- Century of Progress International Exposition - New York World's Fair Collection
There are menus in box 39 of this collection, as well as food themed exhibit materials from Ball Brothers and General Foods.
- Bicentennial Schlock Collection
There are menus and food related items throughout this collection from the 1976 Bicentennial Celebration.
- Student Unrest at Yale Collection
Materials on the Bread and Butter Rebellion (19th century student complaints over quality of food at Yale) are in Box One of this collection
- Charles Gould Morris Collection
Papers documenting a dairy business in New England. Contains materials from a "Milk is Essential" campaign, with materials in English, Italian, and Yiddish.
- Cooking, American
The link above will take you a list of items in the Yale Library related to cooking in the United States.
- Cooking, Brazilian
The link above will take you a list of items in the Yale Library related to cooking in Brazil.
- Cooking, Chinese
The link above will take you a list of items in the Yale Library related to Chinese cooking.
- Cooking, English
The link above will take you a list of items in the Yale Library related to cooking in England.
- Cooking, Mexican
The link above will take you a list of items in the Yale Library related to Mexican cooking.
- Cooking, Louisiana Style
The link above will take you a list of items in the Yale Library related to cooking in Louisiana.