This guide highlights print and electronic resources in international relations and global affairs, plus information about Yale University Library's collections and services.
Welcome! This guide features selected major resources that you can use to start researching your topic in international relations or global affairs, as well as recommended research tools and strategies.
Click on a book's cover to view more information in the Orbis catalog.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: International Relations
High-level overviews of the specialized literature on major and minor topics within the field of international relations. Very useful for starting research and linking to the core literature on a topic.
- Armed Conflict Database
"The Armed Conflict Database (ACD) monitors armed conflicts worldwide, focusing on political, military and humanitarian trends in current conflicts, whether they are local rebellions, long-term insurgencies, civil wars or inter-state conflicts. In addition to the comprehensive historical background for each conflict, the weekly timelines and the monthly updates, the statistics, data and reports in the ACD date back to 1997."
- Encyclopedia of Global Studies
Covers both transnational topics and intellectual approaches to the study of global themes, including: the globalization of economies and technologies; the diaspora of cultures and dispersion of peoples; the transnational aspects of social and political change; the global impact of environmental, technological and health changes; and the organizations and issues related to global civil society.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of American Military and Diplomatic History
"The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Military and Diplomatic History offers both assessment and analysis of the key episodes, issues and actors in the military and diplomatic history of the United States."
Use the Intergovernmental Organization Search Engine (a Google custom search) to search across hundreds of IGO websites.
Use the Non-governmental Organization Search Engine to search across NGO websites. Sites were chosen based on their consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and also collated from University of Minnesota Human Rights Library, Duke University Libraries' NGO Research Guide, and the World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO).