This is the "Home" page of the "Elliott Carter Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Elliott Carter Research Guide   Tags: music  

A web portal to beginning you research on Carter.
Last Updated: May 28, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/elliott_carter Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Other Important Reads

Consult the works below for general overviews of Carter's life.

Cover Art
"Elliott Carter" in Grove Dictionary - Schiff, David.
Call Number: Music Library ML100 G883 2001
ISBN: 0195170679
Clicking on the title above will take you to the Oxford Music Online. Once you're in search for Elliott Carter. The Grove dictionary is of course available in print at the Music Library!

Cover Art
The Music of Elliott Carter. - Schiff, David.
Call Number: Music Library Reserve ML410 C323 S3
This is the 1983 version of Schiff's book but it's completely different from the more recent 1998 version. It is worth consulting despite its earlier date of publication.

 

Welcome

What is this page about?
This is a guide to research for professor Poudrier's class on Elliott Carter's music. This first page lists essential materials but feel free to explore other sections by browsing through the tabs above.

News: The Library of Congress has completed digitization of another batch of the compositional sketches of Elliott Carter

 

Essential Reference Books

elliott carter portraitElliott Carter: A Guide to Research. - Link, John.
Call Number: Music Library Reserve ML134 C323 L7
ISBN/ISSN: 0815324324

Contains a list of works (up to 1999), discography of commercial recordings, and an annotated bibliography.

Also available through the library's electronic book collection.

Updated materials are found here

 

 

Doering Book CoverElliott Carter: A Bio-Bibliography - Doering, William.

Call Number: Music Library Reserve ML134 C323 D6
ISBN/ISSN: 0313268649

Includes a short bio, list of works and performances (up to 1992), discography, and annotated bibliography.

 

 

 

ASDF

The Music of Elliott Carter. - Schiff, David.
Call Number: Call Number: Music Library Reserve ML410 C323 S3
ISBN/ISSN: 0801436125

Includes brief descriptions of works organized by genres (up to 1998), selected bibliography, and discography.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Remi Castonguay
 

What I'm Reading

Cover Art
Lully, ou, Le musicien du soleil - Beaussant, Phillipe
Call Number: ML410 L956 B4
ISBN: 2070724786
This biography was written by a typical French musicologist, very flamboyant and entertaining, which doesn't make it less good. However, the author is wrong about Louis XIV's lack of education; he was educated, historical documents prove it.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip