Requests, Renewals, and ReturnsFines and FeesWho can Use Borrow Direct?Eligible MaterialsWho do I contact about...
About Interlibrary LoanILL Step-by-StepWho can use ILL and How Often?Fines and FeesRequest and Delivery FAQsInformation for Non-Yale Patrons and Libraries
About Scan and DeliverTypical Requests, Limits, and Service GuidelinesScan and Deliver Steps and StatusesEligible MaterialsWho Can Use Scan and Deliver
This is the "Get It @Yale" page of the "Get It @Yale" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Get It @Yale  

Last Updated: Feb 26, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/content.php?pid=448514 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Get It @Yale Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How long does it take?

Open Stacks

Up to You

Campus Delivery

0-2 Days

Scan and Deliver

1-2 days

Borrow Direct

2-4 Days

Interlibrary Loan

4-14+ Days

 

Quick View

What are Get It services?
Get It covers all of the services that allow you to obtain print or digital materials from the library.

How do I know which service to use?
It depends on what you need - check What service should I use?

How do I track everything?
Track Yale books in your Orbis library account page. Borrow Direct activity is managed from the request interface. ILL and Scan and Deliver are managed in the ILL request interface.

What's in this guide?

The Yale University Library offers several services to help you "get" material from its print collections, and from print collections at libraries around the world. 

 

What service should I use?

There are two basic questions to answer before acquiring an item through the Yale Library:

  • What is it?

  • Where is it?
Click the rollout below corresponding to what type of item you wish to request. Then select where the item is located for a table of delivery options.

Print Books and Journals

Print books and journals are at the heart of the collection, and can generally be requested for delivery at any circulation desk on campus. Journal circulation may be limited based on age and libraries outside of Yale will often require you to request specific articles rather than an entire journal. To obtain a book in print, first search Orbis, then search Borrow Direct, then finally search WorldCat.

Books and Journals at Yale in the General Collection

Service to Use
0 - 2 Days Orbis - Request Delivery
7 - 14 Days Orbis - Recall

  • Items in the general collection are those that don't require you to sign into a reading room for access
  • You may get books yourself from any on-campus library
  • Use the "request delivery" link in Orbis to have books held at the circulation desk of your choice
  • Recalls of checked-out items take 14 days - if possible use Borrow Direct instead

Books and Journals at Yale in Special Collections

Service to Use
 0 - 2 Days Orbis - Request For Use

  • Special collection access requires registration with the holding library - most materials can only be used in a designated special collection reading room.
  • Use the "Request for Use" link in Orbis to have materials made available or contact the holding library.
  • Items held in building are typically paged within twenty minutes.. Those held offsite require at least 1 -2 business days for delivery. Contact the holding library for more information.

Books Available through Borrow Direct Libraries

Service to Use
 2 - 4 Days Borrow Direct

  • Open to Yale Students, Faculty, and Staff - for free
  • Request items unavailable or on reserve at Yale
  • Search and request from the catalogs of Brown, Cornell, Princeton, MIT, Harvard, Cornell, UPenn, and Dartmouth
  • Books delivered to Bass, CSSSI, Divinity, Law, and Medical circulation desks

Books Somewhere in the World

Service to Use
 14+ Days Interlibrary Loan

  • Open to Yale Students, Faculty, Staff and certain Alumni - for free
  • Use WorldCat to search libraries around the world
  • Lending terms and turnaround times vary widely

Scanned Book Chapters and Articles

If you only need up to two chapters from a book or two articles from a journal then Yale's libraries can help you obtain electronic copies of the materials without retrieving the entire print volume. These materials are usually delivered in PDF format.

Articles Available Electronically at Yale

Service to Use
 Now Article and Database Search Tool
 Now Orbis - Electronic Resource
 Now Citation Linker (Yale Links)

  • If you are in a preliminary search, use the article search tool.
  • Use the database search tool for finding documents or articles in a specific collection.
  • If you are looking for a specific journal title, search for it in Orbis.
  • The Yale Links tool can be used if you have already have a citation.

Articles and Book Chapters Available in Print at Yale

Service to Use
 0 - 2 Days Scan and Deliver

  • Scans of most circulating items within 2 days
  • Get up to 2 chapters or articles per volume
  • Available to the Yale community and alumni with paid privileges - for free

Articles and Book Chapters Not at Yale

Service to Use
 4-14+ Days Interlibrary Loan

  • Open to Yale Students, Faculty, and Staff - for free
  • Initiate requests through Worldcat or Google Scholar
  • No request limits within boundaries of copyright. Requesting multiple chapters or articles may result in delivery of the print volume.
  • Requests for common publications that include an ISSN, OCLC number, or PMID are processed faster than others

Microforms, Films, and other Media

Many document archives and original manuscripts have been preserved in microform to ensure their availability. Since copyright regulations are unique for these materials, delivery options may vary. The same holds true for media, including audio recordings and videos.

Microforms at Yale

Service to Use
 0 - 2 Days Orbis - Request Delivery
 0 - 2 Days Scan and Deliver

  • Materials in the SML microtext room must be retrieved in person
  • Microforms held at the LSF must be requested individually
  • Scan and deliver services according to microform policy

Audiovisual Materials at Yale

Service to Use
 Now Film Study Center
 Now YCC DVD Collection in Bass
 Now Online Audio Databases
 Varies Orbis - Limit by Type

  • The film studies center holds most films at Yale - circulation is limited and delivery is not available
  • Popular DVDs are kept in the YCC DVD collection in Bass - these materials are not eligible for ILL unless lost
  • Many historical recordings are available through online databases
  • Orbis searches can be limited by type to find other audiovisual materials
  • Delivery for AV materials depend on item and collection policies
  • For more information consult the film studies research guide

Microforms and Audiovisual Materials not Available at Yale

Service to Use
 14+ Days Interlibrary Loan

  • Film and media circulation vary widely by source library
  • Use the "notes" field in the ILLiad request form to specify what formats and alternate editions are acceptable

Dissertations, Data, and Special Materials

Materials that are unique, access restricted, or difficult to transport can pose special challenges. Contacting a librarian will often be the best place to start the process of finding and getting these items and information sources.

Dissertations and Theses Available Online or at Yale

Service to Use
 Now Proquest Database
 0 - 2 Days Orbis

  • Try the Proquest Dissertations and Theses Database first - it holds most readily available dissertations and theses
  • Orbis holds records for dissertations and theses held by the library
  • Some theses and most senior essays produced at Yale are retained by the academic department or school conferring the degree and must be accessed directly
  • Thesis and dissertation circulation is often very limited. Delivery may not be available.

Dissertations and Theses Not Available at Yale

Service to Use
 14+ Days Interlibrary Loan

  • ILL Staff will attempt to locate a circulating copy of the dissertation as quickly as possible
  • International dissertations can take over a month to locate
  • Many libraries will refuse to circulate a dissertation

Data, Objects, and Special Materials

Service to Use
 Varies Consult a librarian

  • There are many large datasets and tools available locally for use
  • Both data sources and data management tools are available through the library
  • Artifacts and special objects are available through Yale's museums
  • Librarians must mediate sharing of rare objects and large data sources
  • Don't be afraid to ask!
 

Get Help Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Help is available Monday to Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Emal Email: askyale@gmail.com

Call Call: (203) 432-1775

SMS text Text: (203) 826-2053

 Tweet:  @askyale

Tracking Orders

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip