Library Location & Workshop CalendarExplore the Sterling Memorial Library!Beautiful libraries in the world
BooksArticlesJournalsBook reviewsDissertations & ThesesVirtual Libraries ~ Iberian literatures onlineMicrofilms at YaleRare Books, Manuscripts & ArchivesPrimary sources WindowPrimary, secondary & tertiary sources
Reference databasesEncyclopediasDictionariesBiographiesBibliographiesGuides & companionsOrganizations & associationsSelected web resources
Getting startedMulti-database searchBasic search strategy in 10 stepsLiterature reviewsFind more...
Literary historyLiterary theoryLiterary movementsLiterary genresIberian languagesVarious topics
NewsJust publishedReviewsLiterary prizesLiterary podcasts and othersRecommendations
Graduate studentsUndergraduate studentsCenter for Languages Studies Curriculum
PORT 001bSPAN 344 - Music and Narrative in the Hispanic Caribbean
This is the "Home" page of the "Iberian Languages and Literatures" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Iberian Languages and Literatures  

Last Updated: Jan 4, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/iberian Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Hola!

 Bienvenidos a la Biblioteca de la Universidad de Yale!

 

My name is Lidia Uziel, and I am your librarian for collection development in Spanish & Portuguese languages and literatures.


The goal of this guide is to direct you to the best databases, reference tools, and on-line and print resources for Spanish & Portuguese  Languages and Literatures. It is my objective to provide you with pointers to as many areas of scholarly interest as possible, from books and academic articles, to reference resources and interesting web links, to primary and secondary resources that will help keep you abreast of current developments in Iberian literary studies.


The selection of resources and (re)search strategies recommended in this guide is meant to reflect the trends and practices in Iberian Studies in general, as well as the Iberian holdings of the Yale University Library in particular. In addition, this guide also provides a few general tips on how to best navigate the research resources available to you when writing scholarly papers on literary topics.


This guide will be updated periodically, so keep an eye out for new resources.  Feel free to give me feedback on the content of this guide, and don't hesitate to send me a message if there is something I haven't covered here that you think should be added. 


Have questions? Want to discuss your research objectives and search strategies?  You're welcome to call or e-mail me anytime -- please see my contact information in the right-hand column. I will be delighted to discuss your needs!

 

This guide is partially bilingual.  Some of the entries are in Spanish - just to make it simpler.  Buena lectura!

 

About your librarian

My official title is "Librarian for Western European Languages and Literature, Comparative Literature & Linguistics." In other words, I select materials (books, databases, videos, microfilms, etc.) in many interconnected literary fields: French, Italian, Spanish and Portuguese, German and Scandinavian languages and literatures, Comparative Literature, and Linguistics. I am also currently serving as acting Librarian for Western European History.  

 

My PhD in Comparative Literature is from University of Montréal in Canada and Jean Moulin Lyon 3 University in France (accomplished "en cotutelle"). I also have an M.A. in French Literature from Jean Moulin Lyon 3 University and an M.L.S. (ALA accredited Library Science degree) from the University of Montréal. I did my B.A. in Romance Languages and Literatures (major in French & minor in Italian) at the Jagiellon University of Krakow in Poland.

 

I did my research mainly in Comparative Literature: literary criticism, theories of the modern novel, Western European languages and literatures, trans-disciplinary approaches to pan-European literature involving philosophy (especially phenomenology), and cognitive sciences.

 

I recently published my first book:


Métamorphoses de l’intériorité. Roman et psyché dans leur déroulement historique. Analyse historique et comparative du phénomène entre la philosophie et le discours romanesque. Éditions Universitaires Européennes, Sarrebruck, 2010.

 

My professional interests also include Cultural Studies, Digital Humanities, and Slavic Languages and Literature.

 

Recommended library guides

I recommend exploring the following guides which provide valuable technical tips related to the effective use of the library and its resources.

Here you can learn how to efficiently use resources such as the library catalog, databases, EndNote, RefWorks, and others.

Here you can learn about Yale collections and resources for archival and manuscript collections.  Finding aids are inventories, indexes, or guides that are created by archival and manuscript repositories to provide information about specific collections.


Subject Guide

Profile Image
Lidia Uziel
Contact Info
E-mail: lidia.uziel@yale.edu
Tel. 203-432-4798
Office: SML, 2 floor, room 226
Send Email
 

Where to find us & how we can help

 

Library Quick Links

Orbis (Yale Library catalog)

Yale Library Borrowing & Privileges

Yale Purchase Request (if you want us to buy a particular item for the library)

Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan (when an item you want is not available at the Yale Library)

Beinecke Library (the rare book and manuscript library at Yale)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip