Provides citations to journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, book reviews, etc. on Islamic topics throughout the world (Middle East, the Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere in the world).
For a thorough search, try variant spellings, such as Uighur / Uyghur / Uygur, Xinjiang / Sinkiang, Gansu / Kansu, Ningxia / Ningsia / Ning-hsia, silk road / silkroad / silk route, etc.
The key source for searching scholarly journal literature published in mainland China. Provides access to thousands of Chinese journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and medicine, with many full-text articles dating back as early as 1915.
The largest Chinese newspaper and periodical online index database created by the Shanghai Library. Covers the period from 1857 till now, with 15,000,000 items from 15,000 newspapers and periodicals published in mainland China, Hong Kong and Taiwan.
Provides full-text access to important Oxford reference and scholarly works on Islamic studies, such as The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Oxford History of Islam, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, etc.
An annotated catalog of "Hui zu dian cang quan shu 回族典藏全書", which is a comprehensive collection of primary sources for the study of Islam and the Muslim communities of China.
Tips to Find Materials on Islam in China in Orbis
Use "Advanced Search" in Orbis to incorporate subject terms into your search. You can also limit the language to English if you want to focus on English sources. Useful subject terms include: Islam, muslim,muslims, Hui, Uighur, silk road, etc. For example: Islam [within the "Subject" field] + China [within the "Subject" field or as a keyword].