This is the "Getting Started with Research" page of the "Getting Started with Judaic Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Guides Home

Getting Started with Judaic Studies   Tags: bible, history, holocaust studies, midrash, modern jewish thought, rabbinics, talmud, women's studies, zionism  

Last Updated: Jul 18, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/content.php?pid=499856 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started with Research Print Page
  Search: 
 

Guides to Judaic Studies Subjects

Cairo Geniza
by Nanette Stahl - Last Updated Mar 26, 2014
A geniza is a storage area, often in a out-of-the-way space in a synagogue, of sacred documents such as Bibles or prayerbooks when they are too worn to be used anymore but since they ares sacred cannot be thrown out.
15 views this year
Classic texts of Jewish study
by Nanette Stahl - Last Updated Mar 26, 2014
Introduction
75 views this year
Dead Sea Scrolls
by Nanette Stahl - Last Updated Dec 18, 2013
53 views this year
Hasidism
by Nanette Stahl - Last Updated Dec 18, 2013
A movement that began in Eastern Europe in the 18th century that called for religious renewal and focused of joy, ecstatic prayer, and a communal life centered on a dynastic and charismatic leader known as a rebbe (grand rabbi).
6 views this year
Jewish newspapers of interest
by Nanette Stahl - Last Updated Mar 6, 2014
A list of popular newspapers in English and in Hebrew. Some require Yale University log in.
48 views this year
Jewish Women's Studies
by Nanette Stahl - Last Updated Dec 18, 2013
Primary and secondary sources to the history of women in Judaism
36 views this year
Judaic Bible Studies Guide
by Nanette Stahl - Last Updated Aug 26, 2013
Included in this guide are tools for the study of Bible studies from a Judaic perspective
44 views this year
Kabbalah (Jewish Mysticism)
by Nanette Stahl - Last Updated Dec 18, 2013
Primary and secondary sources for the study of Kabbalah
16 views this year
Martyriology in Judaism
by Nanette Stahl - Last Updated Dec 18, 2013
Information on how Judaism views martyrdom
8 views this year
Messianism in Judaism
by Nanette Stahl - Last Updated Dec 18, 2013
Examination of the origins of the concept and the history of its evolution in Jewish belief.
12 views this year
Studies in Ancient Judaism
by Nanette Stahl - Last Updated Jul 18, 2014
Links to online resources relating to classical texts
52 views this year
Zionism
by Nanette Stahl - Last Updated Jul 18, 2014
The guide will include books on the history of the modern nationalist movement of the Jewish people whose goal was the settlement of the land of Israel and the renewal of the Hebrew language.
39 views this year
 

Introduction

This guide is intended to facilitate all aspects of research and teaching in Judaic Studies. The Yale library has extensive opportunities for the study of the Judaism including history, religion, culture and languages.  We have resources here such as Yiddish song sheets in the Music Library, DVDs from Israel, Europe and America, microfilms of books and journals, and of course books.  You will find in the guide references to primary and secondary sources in the university's own collections and links to subscriptions to external sources. Although by no means a comprehensive list of resources available, this guide assembles selected documents and collections that may be of particular interest to students and researchers working on a wide range of subjects in Judaic Studies.

 

Major Resources

Search in ORBIS for Hebrew materials by typing your query in Hebrew characters or use Eglish characters to transliterate the Hebrew according to Library of Congress rules as indicated on the following chart: Romanization of Hebrew alphabet

Online Resources: 

  • Oxford Bibliographies -- Guide to Jewish Studies published by Oxford Bibliographies Online. Subjects are listed alphabetically.

Academic Search Premier -- A scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database for many of Yale's journal subscriptions, with indexing and abstracts for many more, covering nearly every area of academic study.

WorldCat -- A resource of over 1 billion records of books and other materials held in more than 10,000 academic, public, special and national libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to locate materials outside of Yale, in almost any area of study, or to locate items in specific libraries and research collections.

Google Scholar -- Searches academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives. If Yale has purchased full-text electronic access, a link to the full-text appears with the search result.

Additional relevant subject guides

Joseph and Ceil Mazer Librarian for Judaic Studies

Profile Image
Nanette Stahl, Joseph & Ceil Mazer Librarian for Judaic Studies
 

Judaic Studies Reading Room, 335B Sterling Memorial Library

Judaic Studies Reading Room

Hours:  The room is open during library hours except for when it is used for seminars or meetings.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip