Skip to main content
Banner Image

Ladybird Documentation: Home

This guide provides overviews, support and documentation for Ladybird users. .

Terminology

OID : Object ID, a unique record number

fdid : Metadata field ID number

ACID : Authority control ID for controlled vocabularies

FAID: Field attribute ID, such as for Name and Alternative Title

Project : A dedicated content silo

Collection : A group of related items.  One project may contain many collections.

Error Reporting : Process by which Ladybird determines that the minimum required fields in a metadata spreadsheet contain the correct data

Complex Object: Content structured with a Parent (container) and Child relationship, where the Parent record contains the principal descriptive and administrative metadata for the entire object and the Child records contain descriptive metadata for individual constituent parts.  Typical complex object formats include books, boxes and/or folders of related items, etc.

Warning!

This Libguide is in development.  The content and structure changes as we build this resource in response to changes in the Ladybird program and user needs.

Introduction

What is LadyBird?

LadyBird is a Hydra-compliant* group of web-based and client applications designed to process digital collections including metadata management and digital media for both reformatted items and born-digital content across the Yale University Libraries.  LadyBird delivers content to the new Blacklight** discovery interface for patron access on the front end and routes master files and metadata on the back end to secure preservation in the Hydra/Fedora repository. LadyBird supports simple and compound/complex object structures (codex formats, serials, and archival collections) to accommodate a wide range of traditional and emerging Library content.

Strategic planning for all aspects of LadyBird is charted under the auspices of the LadyBird Development Committee (LBDC) whose membership is drawn from a range of Library departments.

Program features include: metadata bulk ingest using spreadsheets; full imports from Orbis; Yale Finding Aid (EAD) imports; metadata error reporting; templates for multi-record metadata creation and editing; item-level metadata creation and editing; customizable metadata exports; controlled vocabularies for selected fields; controlled vocabulary editing tools; record versioning; project administrator and tracking controls; patron access options (restricted or open access); and a variety of project and content management features for use by collection owners and associated staff.

The metadata scheme is based on the Metadata Object Description Schema (MODS), with the option to add new fields from other established metadata schemes, such as MARC or CDWA, upon request for special projects.

Library departments and projects using LadyBird include: Arcadia-funded projects; Beinecke Rare Books and Manuscripts; Divinity School Library; Lewis Walpole Library; Manuscripts and Archives; Arts Library Special Collections; Visual Resources Collection; New England Indian Papers, Henry Kissinger Papers, and selected special projects from the Yale University Art Gallery. Yale partners outside of the Library are welcomed to discuss potential LadyBird projects with Digital Initiatives and LBDC.

Yale University Library is partnering with Columbia University Library to develop the next generation of LadyBird.

* For information about Hydra, see: http://projecthydra.org/  ** For information about Blacklight, see: http://projectblacklight.org/  Institutions developing a Hydra/Blacklight digital infrastructure include: Columbia, Duke, Indiana University, London School of Economics, Northwestern, Notre-Dame, Stanford, and the University of Virginia.

The name Lady Bird was adopted from the legendary jazz composition by Tadd Dameron.

 

User notes for Ladybird

  • Fields with drop-down lists (ACID lists) are limited to 1500 characters. All other fields have no limit.
  • If an incorrect value is added to an ACID list, it can only be removed or edited by someone with access to the Ladybird Toolbox. Contact Sarah Coe, Digital Collections Ingest Services Support Specialist, for further information.