This is the "Home" page of the "Women in Latin America: a research guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Guides Home

Women in Latin America: a research guide   Tags: latin america, latin american studies, women  

Last Updated: Aug 25, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/latamwomen Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Reference Sources for Latin America

Latin America and the Caribbean: a critical guide to research sources - Paula H. Covington, David Block...[et al.] eds.
Call Number: SML, Starr Main Reference Room Z1601 L3225X 1992 (LC)+ Oversize
ISBN: 0313264031
An important sourcebook that identifies reference and bibliographic works central to Latin American research. Contains 15 chapters, each providing an introductory essay and a bibliographic section. Coverage includes the social sciences and humanities. Indispensable source for Latin Americanists.

Index to Latin American Periodical Literature, 1929-1960 - Columbus Memorial Library
Call Number: SML, Starr Main Reference Room, Z1601 P35 1929-60 (LC)+ Oversize
This is a hardcover publication that Indexes articles from more than 3,000 periodicals, most of which are published in Latin America (1,600 titles listed, although more are indexed). Two supplements cover 1961-1970. Invaluable source for locating articles published on a subject between 1929-1970.


Reference Materials on Latin America in English: the humanities - Richard D. Woods
Call Number: SML , Starr Reference Room, Z1601 W75 (LC)

 

Introduction

This subject guide provides a selected list of reference sources covering the subject of women in Latin America. The guide contains bibliographies, online databases, guides, indexes, histories, and anthologies. Each title is linked to an Orbis bibliographic record to help you locate the item in the library. For information on women in Latin American literature please see: http://guides.library.yale.edu/latamlit


 

 

Helpful Resources

The following are some of the most common databases dealing with Latin American Studies. These provide an excellent starting point for your research projects.

HLAS - An annotated bibliography of works on Latin America covering various fields in both the humanities and social sciences. Volumes have been published annually since 1936, by Harvard University Press, the University of Florida Press, and the University of Texas Press. HLAS is edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. The printed version and the online database covers from 1936 to the present.


HAPI - HAPI is the largest index of journal information from and about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials. The printed volumes and the online version of HAPI cover from 1970 to the present.


JSTOR - a project of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation for development of a digital library in support of the arts and sciences on the World Wide Web. It will eventually consist of over one hundred journal titles in the areas of anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology and will already contains over two million journal page images. These journals are fully searchable. For strict focus on Latin American journals, make sure to select Latin American Studies in the Limit by Discipline drop down menu.

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Jana Krentz
Contact Info
Sterling Memorial Library
Rm. 313
PH: 203-432-1845
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip