General Reference Bibliographies for Latin America
The following are the most important hard-cover bibliographies and indexes covering the field of Latin American studies.
Latin America and the Caribbean: a critical guide to research sources - Paula H. Covington, David Block...[et al.] eds.
Call Number: SML, Starr Main Reference Room Z1601 L3225X 1992 (LC)+ Oversize
ISBN: 0313264031
An important sourcebook that identifies reference and bibliographic works central to Latin American research. Contains 15 chapters, each providing an introductory essay and a bibliographic section. Coverage includes the social sciences and humanities. Indispensable source for Latin Americanists.
The Cambridge History of Latin America - Leslie Bethell, ed.
Call Number: ML, Starr Main Reference Rm F1410 C1834 1984 (LC)
ISBN: 0521232236
A benchmark publication for the 1980s and 1990s. Each volume features the writing of established scholars in their fields. Each chapter is accompanied by a significant bibliographic essay. v.1-2. Colonial Latin America -- v.3. From Independence to c. 1870 -- v.4-5. c.1870 to 1930 -- v.6. Latin America since 1930 : Economy, society and politics -- v.7. Latin America since 1930: Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean -- v. 8. Latin America since 1930: Spanish South America -- v.10. Latin America since 1930: ideas, culture, and society -- v.11. Bibliographic essays.
Latin American Studies: a basic guide to sources - Robert A. McNeil, editor; Barbara G. Valk, associate editor.
Call Number: SML Starr Reference Room Z1601 L324 1990 (LC)
Latin American Studies: an annotated bibliography of core works - Ana Maria Cobos and Ana Lya Sater.
Call Number: Bass Library, Stacks, Z1601 .C536X 2002 (LC)
Research Tools for Latin American historians: a select, annotated bibliography - David P. Werlich
Call Number: SML , Starr Reference Room, Z1601 W47 (LC)
Reference Materials on Latin America in English: the humanities - Richard D. Woods
Call Number: SML , Starr Reference Room, Z1601 W75 (LC)
* Index to Latin American Periodical Literature, 1929-1960
Call Number: SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating), Z1601 P35 1929-60 (LC)+ Oversize
This is a hardcover publication that Indexes articles from more than 3,000 periodicals, most of which are published in Latin America (1,600 titles listed, although more are indexed). Two supplements cover 1961-1970. Invaluable source for locating articles published on a subject between 1929-1970.
Comments (0)
Introduction
This subject guide helps to identify key works that examine the history of Mexico-U.S. migration available in the Yale University libraries. It contains books, articles, newspapers, primary documents, and web sites on the subject.
General Databases and Indexes
These are the most useful online databases and indexes dealing with Latin American Studies. They provide an excellent starting point for your research projects.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies - An annotated bibliography of works on Latin America covering various fields in both the humanities and social sciences. Volumes have been published annually since 1936, by Harvard University Press, the University of Florida Press, and the University of Texas Press. HLAS is edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. The printed version and the online database covers from 1936 to the present.
- Hispanic-American Periodical Index - HAPI is the largest index of journal information from and about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials. The printed volumes and the online version of HAPI cover from 1970 to the present.
- JSTOR - a project of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation for development of a digital library in support of the arts and sciences on the World Wide Web. It will eventually consist of over one hundred journal titles in the areas of anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology and will already contains over two million journal page images. These journals are fully searchable. For strict focus on Latin American journals, make sure to select Latin American Studies in the Limit by Discipline drop down menu.
- Chicano Database - The Chicano Database identifies all types of material on Mexican-American topics and about Chicanos. The Chicano Database covers at least 1967 to the present, with more than 48,000 records. Records added since 1992 have expanded its scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. The Chicano Database also includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature. Updated quarterly.
- NACLA Digital Archive - NACLA Report of the Americas (Access by IP recognition: Yale/other subscribing institutions)
- Hispanic American Newspapers - Located with America's Historical Newspapers. This archive of American historical newspapers provides access to full text digitized versions of primary source material, Early American Newspapers, Series I, II, III, IV, and V. It includes titles from all 50 present states. It is produced through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others.
Curator for Latin America |
Contact Info Office: Sterling Memorial Library, Rm. 316 Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:30am -5:00pm EST Tel: (203) 432-1835 Fax: (203) 432-7231 Send Email |

Loading...
