This is the "Special Collections" page of the "Near East Collection, Yale University Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Guides Home

Research guide for Islamic and Middle East Studies, and Arabic, Persian, and Turkish languages and literatures.
Last Updated: Oct 3, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/near_east_collection Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Special Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Finding Aids

Advanced Search
 

Special Collections related to the Middle East at Yale

Finding aids are descriptive guides to all the archival and manuscript collections held at Yale.

The department of Manuscripts and Archives in Sterling Memorial Library holds a number of important archive collections related to the Middle East; primarily concerned with nineteenth- and twentieth-century political & diplomatic history and missionary activities in the area. These include:

The Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library holds over 3,500 manuscripts in Arabic, Persian, and Ottoman Turkish in various subject areas, including language and literature, theology, biography, philosophy, and natural and social sciences. In addition, the Beinecke holds a variety of other materials including photographs, maps, and other documents relating to the Middle East, including:

  • the Yale Papyrus Collection, including items in Arabic, Syriac, Aramaic, and Persian.
  • click here to view a sample search of the Beinecke's digital collections, in this case for items related to Syria.

The Babylonian Collection is the largest collection of documents, seals, and other artifacts from ancient Mesopotamia in the United States, and one of the leading collections of cuneiform tablets in the world. This collection is housed on the third floor of the Sterling Memorial Library.

Primary-source materials related to the Middle East are also held in these collections, all discoverable using Orbis and the Yale Finding Aid Database:

The American Oriental Society Library's holdings are discoverable using Orbis.

Librarian for Middle East Studies

Profile Image
Roberta L. Dougherty
Contact Info
Sterling Memorial Library Room 333A
International Collections and Research Support

Mail:
PO Box 208240
New Haven CT 06520-8240

Courier:
130 Wall Street
New Haven CT 06511
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip