Skip to main content
Banner Image

Primary Sources on Architecture at Yale: About this Guide

Guide to primary sources relating to architecture held by the Department of Manuscripts and Archives.

About Manuscripts and Archives (Repository)

Manuscripts and Archives is a major center for historical inquiry and also serves as the documentary memory of Yale University. All members of the Yale community as well as those outside the university are welcome to use the resources and services of the department.


To learn more about us, our services, or how to access our collections, please visit our website.

What's Here

The Subject Guide to Architectural Collections at Yale is a list of architectural records and resources in Manuscripts and Archives.  The guide, though not comprehensive, lists the most substantive holdings. The guide is organized by subject.  Choose a particular subject, or view a list of all the collections by choosing the appropriate tab above.

Additional information about the materials is available in the catalog record in ORBIS, the Yale University Library online public catalog, and/or a finding aid. (Finding aids to materials in Manuscripts and Archives provide context for the materials described as well as a contents list, usually to the box and folder level and sometimes to the item level.) Click on the highlighted titles to access the finding aid.

While the subject content of several of the collections described is exclusively or primarily architecture, the majority of the collections contain additional materials relevant to a broad spectrum of other research topics. There are also collections not listed in this guide that may be relevant to research in architecture.

Subject Guide

Suzanne Noruschat
Manuscripts & Archives
Sterling Memorial Library

Additional Resources

Another subject guide covering resources at Yale on Architecture, Art, and Drama is available and may be useful.  This guide is not actively updated.