Yale University Library Research Guides: MUSI 010 : Music and Diplomacy: Online Sources

Free on the Web

Yale Library's Guide to Government Documents and Information
This guide is a portal to Yale's government information collections and related research tools.
Yale's Guide to International Relations & Global Affairs
This guide highlights print and electronic resources in international relations and global affairs, plus information about Yale University Library's collections and services.
Jam Session: America's Jazz Embassadors Embrace the World
An exhibition from 2008 on the jazz musicians deployed during the Cold War to help win the "hearts and minds" of the world's peoples, and counter the influence of communism.
more...less...
Developed by the Meridian International Center in Washington, DC in collaboration with University of Michigan professor Penny M. Von Eschen and drawn from collections around the United States, the presentation contains more than 100 images capturing memorable moments from jazz tours to 35 countries and four continents.
NYTimes Review of Jam Session Exhibit
National Archives :: Department of State Records
The Department of State was established as the Department of Foreign Affairs by the act of July 27, 1789. It received its present name by the act of September 15, 1789. The Department is responsible for planning and implementing American foreign policy. The Secretary of State is the President's chief advisor for foreign affairs.
National Archives : Using Department of State Records
The Department of State has issued many publications, both as series and as individual documents, that will be of interest to foreign affairs researchers. This section contains information on some of the more important serial publications.
US Government Printing Office
The U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) is the Federal Government’s official, digital, secure resource for producing, procuring, cataloging, indexing, authenticating, disseminating, and preserving the official information products of the U.S. Government. The GPO is responsible for the production and distribution of information products and services for all three branches of the Federal Government.
Yale Subject Guides dealing with Diplomacy

Library Databases

Articles+
Articles+ provides a fast way to search across the fulltext of articles from thousands of library databases (& tens of thousands of journals). Articles available here include many popular published packages, including ScienceDirect, JSTOR, HeinOnline, Sage, and Springer. The preview window allows you to view an abstract in many cases. Please note, this interface does not search all of Yale's online databases. The following popular databases are excluded from this search: Factiva, ArtStor, LexisNexis, PubMed, RILM, and SciFinder Scholar.
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
"The most important publication to consult before beginning research on U.S. foreign policy is the series Foreign Relations of the United States, commonly referred to as FRUS. This series, prepared and issued by the Department of State since 1861, is a compilation of selected documents from the files of the Department of State, the White House, and other agencies. It presents a historical view of American foreign policy." Part of the Hein Online database. Access is limited to Yale University
LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic Universe is a full-text news and information service that provides access to newspapers, magazines, transcripts, business and legal information. Access is limited to Yale University
Oxford Music Online
Looking in Grove Music Online (or other encyclopedias) can be a great starting point to find authoritative articles about your topic or a person/people of importance in music history. Consult the bibliography attached to the article that relates to your topic. Access is limited to Yale University
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format, including most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content. Access is limited to Yale University
Proquest Historical News & Newspapers databases
This historical newspaper database provides researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Access is limited to Yale University
ProQuest Music Periodicals Database
IIMP (International Index to Music Periodicals) indexes more than 400 music journals, with an emphasis on recent issues. Access is limited to Yale University
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Recent articles in scholarly journals and books. Keep your search very simple, e.g., search for music AND diplomacy. Or Jazz AND diplomacy. Access is limited to Yale University