Skip to main content
Banner Image

Near East Collection, Yale University Library: News Resources

Research guide for Islamic and Middle East Studies, and Arabic, Persian, and Turkish languages and literatures.

Resources for Middle East news

News sources of specific interest available to the Yale community include:

  • Yale University Library foreign newspapers on microform --newspaper titles from North Africa, Egypt, and Yemen, in Arabic, English, French, or Italian. The resource can be searched by country of publication.
  • Center for Research Libraries (CRL) --the online catalog can be searched by resource type "newspapers" or "serials" and country of publication. CRL's collection includes newspaper and serial titles in Arabic, Persian, Turkish, Ottoman Turkish, Kurdish, and other languages of the Middle East. Yale affiliates can make interlibrary loan requests for any microfilmed newspapers or periodicals in the catalog.
  • Library PressDisplay -- An international newsstand right on your desktop! Online access to over 200 newspapers from more than 55 countries, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title. It is possible to search this resource in Arabic script. In most cases, a 60-day news archive is available.
  • MideastWire.com -- An Internet-based news service providing translations into English from a wide variety of news sources located in all 22 Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab media diaspora generally. Most of the articles include links back to the original website of the source.
  • Alphabetical List of Open Access Historical Newspapers and Other Periodicals in Middle East & Islamic Studies --from the AMIR blog
  • MEDOC (Middle East Documentation Center, University of Chicago) -- Catalog of microfilmed periodicals in Arabic, Persian, and Ottoman Turkish. Yale affiliates can make interlibrary loan requests for any microfilmed newspapers or periodicals in the catalog.
  • Jaraid: a chronology of 19th-century periodicals in Arabic (1800-1900) -- Lists periodicals published in Arabic, or Arabic and another language (e.g., Arabic and Ottoman Turkish), or Arabic written in a different script (e.g., Judeo-Arabic), during the period from 1800 to 1900. Includes bibliographies and holdings information for libraries located in Europe, the Middle East, and the U.S.

Additional news resources in English and English translation:

  • Alt-PressWatch -- This database features over 670,000 articles from more than 210 publications, offering a wide range of unfettered, critical coverage of the news. All of these varied alternative and independent presses are presented in 100% full text, allowing researchers total access to regional, rural, and metropolitan perspectives on local, national, and international issues. Providing an alternative to corporate controlled media, the Alt-Press Watch database presents big stories from small sources.
  • Ethnic Newswatch -- Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
  • Factiva -- Contains nearly 8,000 sources from 118 countries and 22 languages, and 120 continuously updated newswires.
  • LexisNexis Academic -- A full-text news and information service that provides access to newspapers, magazines, transcripts, business and legal information. Updates in the second quarter of 2013 include many new Middle East news sources.
  • World News Connection (Dialog) -- Complete archive of translated and English language news and information compiled from non-United States media sources by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events derived from full-text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. The archive covers news from Nov. 1995-Dec. 31, 2013, when the daily updates for World News Connection were discontinued.

Librarian for Middle East Studies

Robin Dougherty's picture
Robin Dougherty
Contact:
Sterling Memorial Library Room 333A
Department of Area Studies and Humanities Research Support

Mail:
PO Box 208240
New Haven CT 06520-8240

Courier:
130 Wall Street
New Haven CT 06511
Website / Blog Page