Yale University Library Research Guides: Political Science Subject Guide: PLSC 777 and 778: Comparative Politics I and II

Annual Reviews

Annual Review of Political Science
(from here, can access Annual Reviews in other disciplines)

Annual Reviews synthesize the research literature and identify the principal contributions in a particular field. Editorial committees comprised of the most distinguished scholars in the discipline select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field.

Catalogs for books (and journals, government documents, films, archival collections, and more)

Quicksearch
Provides a combined search of Books+ (Orbis and MORRIS) and Articles+ (journal articles, e-books, dissertations, and more).
Orbis (Yale Library Catalog)
MORRIS (Yale Law Library Catalog)
Borrow Direct
Use Borrow Direct to simultaneously search the catalogs of other Ivy League/peer institutions.
WorldCat
Includes 1.5 billion records of books and other materials held in thousands of academic, public, special and national libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to identify materials not held by the Yale University Library. If the item you need is not available at Yale or through Borrow Direct, make an Interlibrary Loan request.

Yale Library International Collections

Each collection's site includes descriptions of its print collections and links to online resources, including news resources and country-specific data and information. Contact staff in each collection for research assistance.

Databases for journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and more

Search databases to cast a wide net for journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference reports, government documents, and other materials. Databases provide citations and sometimes full text (or links to possible sources of full text – look for the Yale Links button in the search results).

ProQuest Social Sciences Search
Single search of many databases, including:

IBSS (International Bibliography of the Social Sciences)
PAIS International
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Use the “descriptors” (i.e., subject headings) to focus searches or launch new searches—but note that descriptors may vary from database to database.
International Political Science Abstracts
Use “narrow results by subject” (on left side of results screen) to refine search results; or click on title of a search result to see its subject terms, and then click a subject to launch a new search.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Includes full text of working papers from university research institutes, NGO occasional papers series, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, journals, and policy briefs.
Historical Abstracts
The primary resource to find resources on history. Covers scholarly literature published between 1955 and the present. Materials in many languages are indexed.
Praeger Security International
Full-text books, encyclopedias, and commentary on international security, armed forces, conflicts, counterinsurgency, and more.
SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
Includes abstracts of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers, as well as an Electronic Paper Collection with downloadable full text documents. Free registration required.

Citation databases

Citation databases allow you to see how often a work of scholarship is cited, and to trace connections between related works.

IGO search engine

Use the Intergovernmental Organization Search Engine (a Google custom search) to search across hundreds of IGO websites:

NGO search engine

Use the Non-governmental Organization Search Engine to search across NGO websites. Sites were chosen based on their consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and also collated from University of Minnesota Human Rights Library, Duke University Libraries' NGO Research Guide, and the World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO).

Political Science Subject Guide: PLSC 777 and 778: Comparative Politics I and II