Yale University Library Research Guides: Political Science Subject Guide: PLSC 406/720: Sexual Violence and War (Fall 2013)

Related research guides

Yale Library International Collections

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews synthesize the research literature and identify the principal contributions in a particular field. Editorial committees comprised of the most distinguished scholars in the discipline select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field.

Find dissertations

Dissertations and Theses Global
Find dissertation and thesis citations from around the world from 1861 to present. Full text is available for most of the dissertations added since 1997. Dissertations not online and not held by Yale or Borrow Direct libraries can be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan.

DART-Europe E-theses Portal
Access to more than 400,000 full-text research theses from more than 500 universities in 27 European countries.

Databases for journal articles, book chapters, and more

Click on the for more information about each resource. To find additional relevant databases, browse the A-Z list of databases or search by database title.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
more...less...
Includes full text of working papers from university research institutes, NGO occasional papers series, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, journals, and policy briefs. Advantage: can search within full text. Disadvantage: lack of subject headings makes it hard to focus.
Gender Studies Database
more...less...
GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
Hein Online
law review articles and legal literature (US and International)
Historical Abstracts
The primary resource to find resources on history. Covers scholarly literature published between 1955 and the present. Materials in many languages are indexed.
ICPSR
Repository of social science research
International political science abstracts
Access for 8 simultaneous users
JSTOR
more...less...
Full text of journals in a wide range of disciplines, including political science, anthropology, history, and area studies. JSTOR provides excellent archival access, typically back to volume 1, issue 1 of included journals; however, it doesn't provide access to the most recent 2-5 years of most journals. Search in Orbis by journal title to see if we have current access to a journal through a different provider.
Praeger Security International
more...less...
Full-text books, encyclopedias, and commentary on international security, armed forces, conflicts, counterinsurgency, and more.
ProQuest Social Sciences Search
Single search of several databases including:
GenderWatch, IBSS (International Bibliography of the Social Sciences), PAIS International, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Proquest TDM Studio
Platform for text mining licensed Proquest content

Catalogs for books (and journals, government documents, films, archival collections, and more)

Quicksearch
Provides a combined search of Books+ (Orbis and MORRIS) and Articles+ (journal articles, e-books, dissertations, and more).
Orbis (Yale Library Catalog)
MORRIS (Yale Law Library Catalog)
Borrow Direct
Use Borrow Direct to simultaneously search the catalogs of other Ivy League/peer institutions.
WorldCat
Includes 1.5 billion records of books and other materials held in thousands of academic, public, special and national libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to identify materials not held by the Yale University Library. If the item you need is not available at Yale or through Borrow Direct, make an Interlibrary Loan request.

Looking for information from IGOs or NGOs?

Use the Intergovernmental Organization Search Engine (a Google custom search) to search across hundreds of IGO websites.

Use the Non-governmental Organization Search Engine to search across NGO websites. Sites were chosen based on their consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and also collated from University of Minnesota Human Rights Library, Duke University Libraries' NGO Research Guide, and the World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO).

U.S. and international news - general databases

NexisUni
U.S. and world news publications, plus broadcast transcripts, magazines, and wire services. Coverage dates vary by title; some sources go back to the late 1980s. No longer includes updated Washington Post.
Factiva
News and business publications, newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters, international news sources; dates of coverage vary.
Global Newsstream
Provides access to the most influential and respected contemporary news resources from around the globe. This comprehensive contemporary news collection delivers superior access to current, full-text news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites.
Access World News
US and world news publications with many local and regional titles. Publication types include but are not limited to newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Includes current image edition of the New Haven Register.
Library PressReader
Over 2000 newspapers from 100 countries in 60 languages; all sources displayed in their original format (i.e., including photos and advertisements). Most recent 3 months only.
Eureka.cc
A searchable database of Canadian, U.S, and European newspapers, trade publications, news wires, radio and television program transcripts, websites and blogs, and social media. Some sources are available in PDF full text.
(Access is limited to 3 users at a time)
Foreign Policy Insider.
International source for global news, providing an evolving network of world-leading insights and analysis coupled with rapidly expanding original reporting. Foreign Policy Insider provides analyses of pressing global challenges in real time.

More information for PLSC 406

Handout from library session (spring 2022)

Political Science Subject Guide: PLSC 406/720: Sexual Violence and War (Fall 2013)