This is the "Home" page of the "Preserving Your Personal Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Guides Home

Preserving Your Personal Collections   Tags: care & handling, conservation, individual collectors, personal collections, preservation  

Last Updated: Oct 15, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/preservepersonalcollections Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Welcome and Introduction

Welcome! In this guide you will find information about caring for personal collections, such as books, photographs, and documents.

 

Books

Cover Art
Caring for Your Family Treasures - Jane S. Long; Richard W. Long; Inge-Lise Eckmann (Editor)  Icon
ISBN: 9780810929098
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
This practical guide, from the foremost heritage conservation organisation in America, shows how to safeguard family treasures, from antique furniture and a fragile wedding dress to cherished photograph albums and home video tapes.


Cover Art
Saving Stuff - Don Williams; Louisa Jaggar
ISBN: 9780743264167
Publication Date: 2005-05-31
The most comprehensive book on preserving every type of collectible -- from the sentimental to the valuable -- from the Smithsonian's Senior Conservator. For both the serious collector and the sometimes sentimentalist, "Saving Stuff" explains -- in plain language -- how you can use the techniques of museum professionals to keep your prized possessions in mint condition. You do not need deep pockets or oodles of time: using Don Williams's simple instructions, you can preserve anything quickly and inexpensively. In "Saving Stuff, " he demystifies preservation and presents easy, foolproof methods anyone can use to save nearly everything, including: Photographs -- in print and digital form Stuff only a parent could love -- from baby teeth to old blankets and first artworks Furniture -- whether it's painted, varnished, or upholstered Family heirlooms -- from silver to rugs to wedding dresses Sports and political memorabilia -- trading cards, posters, equipment, buttons, stickers Attic leftovers -- scrapbooks, military uniforms, medals Musical instruments Fine art -- oil paintings, etchings, lithographs Printed matter -- comic books, magazines, old letters And much, much more With step-by-step instructions, detailed illustrations, tips for making the things you use every day last, and stories about how the Smithsonian takes care of our national treasures, "Saving Stuff" is the only book you need to take care of the stuff you love.

Cover Art
The Winterthur Guide to Caring for Your Collection - Gregory J. Landrey
ISBN: 9780912724522
Publication Date: 2000-11-01
Should you polish the silver? Where is the best place to store that family Bible? And what about the worn area in Aunt Alice's sampler? Should you try to repair the damage? The Winterthur Guide to Caring for Your Collection provides readers with answers to questions like these, along with practical advice on how to care for the objects they value. With chapters devoted to media ranging from paper and photographs to metalwork and textiles, the book presents a lucid approach to teaching the practical skills of conservation -- what to do and what not to do. In the second volume of the Winterthur Decorative Arts Series, the conservators at Winterthur call on their many years of experience to address the types of problems that people commonly encounter. Their advice and expertise will benefit all those concerned about the proper care of the objects they cherish.

 

Blog, Conservation & Exhibition Services

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Preservation Services Librarian

Profile Image
Tara Kennedy
Contact Info
Send Email
 

Public Events

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip