Alternate Page for Screenreader Users

Yale University Library Subject Guides - Sarah Calhoun

Librarian for South Asian Studies

Profile Image
Sarah Calhoun
Logo - Facebook
Contact Info:
Sterling Memorial Library, room 210
(look for the bulletin board)
International Collections and Research Support

Mail: PO Box 208240
New Haven, CT 06520-8240

Tel: (203) 432-7795
Favorite Books:
Writing down the bones : freeing the writer within / Natalie Goldberg

Guides

FREN 020/HSAR 008 Orientalism in Art & Literature
by Sarah Calhoun, Robin Dougherty, Lindsay King - Last Updated Jan 16, 2015
Intro to Orientalism in European literature & art from 17th century to today. Influence of encounters with peoples & countries of the Middle East on art & literature; emphasis on French & British works. Sources include fiction, poetry, painting, & film.
Himalayan Collections at Yale: Thinking like a librarian
by Sarah Calhoun, Peter Leonard - Last Updated Aug 24, 2014
This is a guide for students in Mark Turin's Fall 2013 class, "Himalayan Collections at Yale" (ANTH 317 | HSAR 479 | SAST 363 | EAST 363)
Tags: anthropology, art_history, asia, asian studies, beinecke, chinese studies, digital humanities, divinity, east asia, himalaya, history of art, india, mssa, nepal, primary sources, south_asia, tibet, yale history of art, yale_university_art_gallery
NMML-Yale Library Conference
by Sarah Calhoun, Tara Kennedy, Christine McCarthy - Last Updated Jul 1, 2014
This Guide contains information from the NMML Workshop ‘Best Practices in Library and Archives Management’ in association with Yale University.
Tags: conservation, india, library, preservation, primary sources, south_asia, special collections, special_collections, yale
Resources for South Asian Studies (SAST) Majors
by Sarah Calhoun - Last Updated Feb 18, 2015
This guide contains specialized resources for all SAST majors, including senior essayists. Also helpful for students just starting in the South Asian Studies field.
Tags: senior_essay, south_asia
South Asia Collection
by Sarah Calhoun - Last Updated Jan 23, 2015
A summary of Yale University Library's South Asia Collection, which includes material from and about Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, the Himalayan region, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.
Tags: asian studies, commonwealth, himalaya, india, international studies, primary sources, south_asia
South Asia in Manuscripts and Archives
by Sarah Calhoun - Last Updated Feb 11, 2015
This is a brief overview of selected collections in Yale's Manuscripts and Archives (located within Sterling Memorial Library) that have South Asia content.
Tags: asia, asian studies, colonial, empire, himalaya, india, international, international studies, manuscripts_and_archives, mssa, primary sources, south_asia, special_collections, tibet
South Asia: Forestry and Environmental Studies
by Sarah Calhoun - Last Updated Mar 11, 2015
This Guide contains information about the study of Forestry and Environmental Studies as it pertains to the area of South Asia (including Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Tibet).
Tags: asian studies, botany, climate_change, environment, environmental studies, fes, forestry, global_change, international studies, maps, plant sciences, science, south_asia, yale, yale_science_libraries
South Asia: Himalayan Studies
by Sarah Calhoun - Last Updated Jan 5, 2015
This Guide contains information about Himalayan Studies (including Bhutan, China, India, Nepal, and Pakistan, and the Tibetan cultural areas that traverse the borders of all those states), in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Tags: asian studies, beinecke, bhutan, environmental studies, fes, himalaya, india, language, nepal, south_asia, tibet, yale
South Asia: Humanities
by Sarah Calhoun - Last Updated Jan 6, 2015
This Guide is intended to aid students and researchers in the Humanities in doing research on the geographical area of South Asia.
Tags: area_studies, asia, history, humanities, images, language, linguistics, literature, religion, south_asia
South Asia: Orientalism from the 17th-20th centuries
by Sarah Calhoun - Last Updated Dec 15, 2014
Orientalism in literature & art from 17th century to today. Influence of encounters with peoples & countries of South Asia on art & literature. Sources include fiction, poetry, painting, & film.
Tags: 17th century, 18th century, 19th century, 20th century, british_history, colonial, commonwealth, south_asia
South Asia: Religious Studies
by Sarah Calhoun - Last Updated Mar 31, 2015
Information about some religions found in South Asia, including Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Jainism, Judaism, Christianity, and Sikhism.
Tags: buddhism, hinduism, india, islam, jainism, jewish studies, religion, south_asia
South Asia: Statistics and Census Data
by Sarah Calhoun - Last Updated May 21, 2015
A compilation of various paper and electronic resources with statistics and/or census data from and about South Asia, including Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, the Himalayan region, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.
Tags: asian studies, business, climate_change, data, environment, environmental studies, fes, forestry, geodatabases, geographic information systems, gis, himalaya, history, india, international studies, south_asia
Volunteer for Humanitarian OpenStreetMap (HOTOSM)
by Sarah Calhoun - Last Updated May 1, 2015
How you can help first responders with the Nepal earthquake
Tags: gis, nepal, south_asia
What language is it?
by Sarah Calhoun - Last Updated Aug 12, 2014
This is a Guide for YUL staff to help identify scripts and which selector they belong to.

Office Hours

Monday By appointment
Tuesday By appointment
Wednesday By appointment
Thursday By appointment
Friday By appointment
 

About Sarah

Hello! As the Assistant Curator of the South Asia Collection, I am in charge of growing Yale's collection of books, journals, movies, and music from South Asia (including Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, the Himalayan region, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka). In addition to a degree in Library Science, I also hold an MA from UW-Madison in Languages and Cultures of Asia. While there, I specialized in Theravada Buddhism in Sri Lanka and Thailand (my BA is also in Religious Studies).

 

I have studied many languages, including: Hindi, Sanskrit, Pali, Sinhala (from Sri Lanka), Thai, French, and Russian. I also have studied linguistics and quite enjoy learning new scripts (for transliteration purposes). So far, I've picked up Tamil and Panjabi.

 

In my spare time I teach ballroom dance, my favorite dances being Rumba, Tango, and West Coast Swing. 

 

Please feel free to call, email, or stop by with a question at any time! I am usually in my office (SML 333) between 8:30 - 5:00 pm, M-F.

 
 
Description

  Loading...