This is the "Hire Research Assistance" page of the "Manuscripts and Archives Researcher Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Guides Home

Manuscripts and Archives Researcher Information  

This guide provides a variety of information for researchers using the reading room and collections of Manuscripts and Archives, in Sterling Memorial Library at Yale University.
Last Updated: Oct 20, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/content.php?pid=548555 Print Guide Email Alerts

Hire Research Assistance Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How to Employ a Local Research Assistant

If you are unable to travel to New Haven, you may wish to consider hiring a local research assistant. The terms of employment are between you and your assistant, and Manuscripts and Archives, the Yale University Library, or Yale University have no involvement in such negotiations. Paid research assistants are welcome to set their own hourly rates. We do require your research assistant to complete our researcher registration process and follow all terms and conditions for access to Yale special collections.

The following are possible options to explore in order to locate a research assistant. You will need to be able to describe your research needs succinctly in order to utilize any of these services. Be sure to include any special research skills required, such as languages.

  • The McDougal Graduate Student Center within Yale's Graduate School of Arts and Sciences maintains e-mail contact with all Yale graduate and professional students. You may contact the McDougal Graduate Student Center by email at mcdougal.center@yale.edu or by telephone at (203) 432-2583, to advertise employment of a research assistant.
  • Yale history students are sometimes interested in temporary employment. You may contact the Department of History by telephone at (203) 432-1366 or by writing to P.O. Box 208324, Yale University, New Haven, CT 06520-8324.
  • The Center for Career Services at Southern Connecticut State University maintains a registry for services wanted, which is available to its entire student body. Please contact them directly if you are interested in utilizing this service to advertise for a research assistant.

Finally, Manuscripts and Archives maintains a periodically updated list of individuals familiar with our reading room who have indicated their willingness to provide fee-based research assistance. Please send an email if you would like us to send you the current list.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip