Skip to main content
Banner Image

Science Data Resources: Life

Resources for data in the sciences.

Bioinformatics Guide

The Bionformatics Guide includes a selection of the most relevant end user bioinformatics resources and tools for biomedical research available at Yale University and beyond. It includes tools on:

Data Aggregation / Visualization Tools

Genome Browsers provide a graphical interface for displaying data and information from different databases and the location of these data on the genome.


Biomart is a data management system that allows users to conduct fast, powerful queries using either web, graphical, or text based applications.

Main Data Respositories

The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) provides access to biomedical and genomic information and data

The European Bioinformatics Institute (EBI) provides freely available data from life science experiments.

The Integrated Microbial Genomes (IMG) system is to support the annotation, analysis and distribution of microbial genome and metagenome datasets sequenced at DOE's Joint Genome Institute (JGI).

The Mouse Genome Informatics (MGI) is the international database resource for the laboratory mouse, providing integrated genetic, genomic, and biological data

Data Standards

Some of the major research data challenges in the life sciences include lack of comprehensive standards; lack of incentives for individual scientists to share data; and lack of appropriate infrastructure and support (Thessen and Patterson, 2011). The article has led to a larger conversation on biodiversity information, taxonomic data, and opportunities and challenges in scholarly writing, digital indexing, and curation.

 

 The minimum Information guidelines from diverse bioscience communities contains Bioscience reporting guidelines and tools increase the visibility of projects developing guidance for the reporting of biological and biomedical science, promote the adoption of consensus guidance on reporting by journals and funders.


 The Digital Curation Centre (DCC) compiled a list of biological sciences disciplinary metadata standards, including profiles and tools to implement the standards, and use cases of data repositories currently implementing them.


 

 BioSharing register well-constituted efforts developing biosciences standards and collaborate with other groups, portals and resources


The NIH Common Data Elements (CDEs) in clinical research, patient registries, and other human subject research in order to improve data quality and opportunities for comparison and combination of data from multiple studies and with electronic health records.

Directories of Data Repositories

This is a list of NIH data sharing repositories that make data accessible for reuse. Most accept submissions of appropriate data from NIH-funded investigators and others.


The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. It includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.


re3data.org is a registry of research data repositories. This registry tries to cover research data repositories from different academic disciplines.


OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories.

Contact a librarian!

This guide is maintained by several librarians, and one or more of us may be able to help you. Contact one or all of us to schedule a consultation or ask a question.

Kayleigh Bohemier

Librarian for Astronomy, Geology, Physics
203.432.9519

Rolando Garcia-Milian

Biomedical Sciences Research Support
203.785.6194

For questions about your existing data management protocols or an NSF data management proposal, please contact the Research Data Consultation Group.