Books and PlaysArticlesVideosSound Media (CDs and Streaming)Online Plays & DocumentsReviews & Popular JournalismPhotos & IllustrationsArchives & Microfilms at YaleArchives (etc) Outside Yale
Annuals & DirectoriesBibliographiesBiographical InformationDictionaries & EncyclopediasGroups, Shows, Awards etcPlay Catalogs & IndexesPlot OutlinesProfessional OrganizationsWeb Portals & Other Guides
Acting, Directing, Stage MgmtDanceDesign & TechnologyHistory, Theory & CriticismMusical TheaterPlaywriting & DramaturgyTheater Management/Production
Famous PeopleFrequently Asked QuestionsTheaters, Groups & Events
This is the "Home" page of the "Theater and Dance Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Theater and Dance Research Guide provides a guide to key resources and crucial search strategies for these and related subjects, such as musical theater and performance art.
Last Updated: Apr 3, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/theater Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

About this Guide

Comedy mask window in Sterling Library
Comedy mask window in Sterling Memorial Library

 

This website provides a guide to conducting research in theater, dance and musical theater, highlighting key resources and search strategies.  There are many special aspects to doing theater and dance research, including:

  • important search terms
  • techniques for finding videos of performance
  • production histories
  • and much more

Through this website, I try to give you some ways to crack open research in these subjects.  Most of the pages give examples that you can use as a model for your searches, descriptions of the main resources, and tips on how to use certain databases.

 

Tragedy mask window in Sterling Memorial Library (with misspelling)

It's important to know that even though the guide focuses on strategies for finding books, often the same or similar approaches will work in article databases.

 

Sometimes there are also pages for particular classes, and every month I provide a list of books (and sometimes videos, microfilms and other resources) on theater and dance that the Library acquired the month before.

 

Have questions?  Want to discuss your research needs?  Please contact me!

 

 

 

 

About the Theater Studies Librarian

Marionette play window in
Sterling
Memorial Library

My official title is "Librarian for Performing Arts, Media and Philosophy," and I select materials (books, databases, videos, microfilms, etc) in lots of interconnected fields: theater, film, philosophy, TV and radio, graphic novels, dance, journalism, cyberculture, performance art, circus ... you get the picture!  I also acquire the DVDs for the Yale College Council collection in Bass Library.

 

My PhD is from the Interdisciplinary Program in Theater from Northwestern University.  I did my undergrad at the University of Michigan (Residential College, Comparative Literature), and I have both an MA (Comparative Literature, University of Iowa) and an MLS (Simmons College Graduate School of Library Science).  I've published mainly in theater history and theory, including the book Theatre, Communication, Critical Realism (Palgrave, 2010), and also in social theory and digital humanities.  I've taught theater history and theory at the Ohio State University, the University of Washington, Tufts University, and the University of Helsinki.  Plus, I've acted, directed, dramaturged, hung lights, sewn costumes, and even organized group ticket sales.

 

You are welcome to contact me about your research and resources that you need -- see the information in the box in the right column.

 

Recommended Reading


Cover Art
The Craft of Research - Booth, Colomb, Williams
Call Number: Bass and Bass Reference, Q180.55.M4 B66X 2008
This is an enormously helpful book pitched at the perfect level of sophistication for Yale students. Especially useful is chapter 3, which discusses how to turn a general interest in a subject into a focused research question or problem. This is a crucial step in any research project and one that is often given too little thought. The link above takes you to an e-book version of the 2nd edition.

 

Librarian for Performing Arts, Media & Philosophy

Profile Image
Tobin Nellhaus
Contact Info
226 Sterling Memorial Library
Yale University
130 Wall Street, P.O. Box 208240
New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Tel: 203.432.8212
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip