Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Accessing Arts Library Special Collections: Welcome!

This guide outlines the steps required to request items to view in the ALSC reading room, how to then request an appointment (required) in the reading room, and how new users can register in Aeon.

Welcome to Arts Library Special Collections (ALSC)

This guide explains how to request items from our collections; how to make an appointment to view these items in our Reading Room; and how to register in Aeon if it is your first time using Special Collections materials.

Profile Photo
Mar Gonzalez Palacios
Contact:
Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library
190 York Street | P.O. Box 208318
New Haven, CT 06520-8318
(203) 432-4439

Today's Hours


The ALSC reading room is open:

  • Fall and Spring semesters: Monday-Thursday 1pm-4:30pm and Friday 10am-12pm and 1pm-4:30pm
  • Summer Sessions: Monday-Friday 1pm-4:00pm
  • Appointments may be required during recess

To find current access policy for non-Yale researchers, please see Plan your visit.

Questions? Visit Accessing Arts Library Special Collections guide or contact us at haasalsc@yale.edu

Access in Brief

Register in Aeon if you have not used Special Collections materials at Yale before! ]

 

To see current opening hours, visit the Buildings & Hours page. Seat reservations may be required during recess.

Non-Yale Researchers

Beginning April 11, Yale University Library will reopen its special collections reading rooms, including the Arts Library Special Collections Reading Room, to non-Yale researchers who are fully vaccinated and boosted and have not traveled outside the U.S. within the prior 15 days. Researchers will be required to register in the Yale Library special collections system, complete the University vaccine attestation process in advance of their visit, and show a copy of their approval email for admission to the library on the day of their visit. Plan your visit