Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
: The medical library is open to users authorized to be on campus. Visit this page
The list below is a small segment of organizations whose primary focus is the health and well-being of the LGBTQI+ community, both in terms of treatment and/or advocacy.
The Amerian Psychological Association (APA)
The APA website contains materials on a wide range of topics, including educational materials, practice guidelines, and general audience resources.
BiNet USA Is America's umbrella organization and voice for bisexual, pansexual, fluid and all other "somewhere in between" people as well as their lesbian, gay, transgender, "straight but not narrow" and questioning friends and allies. BiNet USA promotes bisexual, pansexual and bi-inclusive visibility; and collects and distributes educational information regarding sexual orientation and gender identity with an emphasis on the bisexual and pansexual and allied communities.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: LGBT Health section
The CDC is dedicated to protecting health and promoting quality of life through the prevention and control of disease, injury, and disability in America. This site provides information about the health concerns of LGBT populations.
The Gay and Lesbian Medical Association
GLMA is the world's largest and oldest association of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) health care professionals.
The Global Alliance for LGBT Education: GALE
GALE is a learning community focusing on education about lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) issues. GALE promotes the full inclusion of people who are disadvantaged because of their sexual orientation, sexual identity and their expression by identifying, enhancing and sharing educational expertise. The membership of the community is open to anyone actively involved in education about LGBT issues. GALE is a foundation, registered in The Hague, The Netherlands.
The Human Rights Campaign: HRC
HRC IS the largest national lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender civil rights organization. HRC’S health information has historically focused on issues surrounding the HIV/AIDS pandemic. However HRC is dedicated to the coverage of all health related issues facing the LGBT community and broadening its information scope to include issues such as lesbian health, healthcare discrimination and the Healthcare Equality Index (HEI), a project that provides a quality indicator for healthcare related to LGBT people.
The International Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans and Intersex Association: ILGA
ILGA is a world-wide network of national and local groups dedicated to achieving equal rights for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender and intersex (LGBTI) people everywhere. Founded in 1978, it now has more than 670 member organizations. Every continent and over 110 countries are represented.
The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Caucus of Public Health Professionals
The LGBTC is a forum for public health workers interested in gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender issues. The LGBT Caucus has been in official relations with the APHA since 1975. Since that time, the Caucus has provided a forum that supports the educational interchange among other LGBT public health members. We also encourage interchange between others who are not LGBT but are interested in our issues.
LGBT Issues Committee of the Group for the Advancement of Psychiatry: GAP
At this website LGBT/GAP presents an introductory mini-course in LGBT health and mental health for trainees and practitioners in any field. In a very accessible format, this series of modules provides a basic learning guide for working with LGBT clients. All modules include learning goals and objectives. Each module begins with a pre-test to help participants assess their existing knowledge about specific topics, followed by a post-test to assure that learning goals have been achieved. Modules also have relevant links, resource lists, and references to facilitate deeper exploration of topics. Hosted by the Association of Gay and Lesbian Psychiatrists.
The National Association of Lesbian and Gay Addiction Professionals: NALGAP
NALGAP's mission is to confront all forms of oppression and discriminatory practices in the delivery of services to all people and to advocate for programs and services that affirm all genders and sexual orientations. NALGAP provides information, training, networking, and advocacy about addiction and related problems, and support for those engaged in the health professions, individuals in recovery, and others concerned about the health of gender and sexual minorities.
The National Center for Transgender Equality: NCTE
NCTE is a social justice organization dedicated to advancing the equality of transgender people through advocacy, collaboration and empowerment. NCTE provides a consistent voice in Washington DC for transgender people by monitoring federal activity and communicating this activity to our members around the country, providing congressional education, and establishing a center of expertise on transgender issues. NCTE also maintains a federal transgender activists’ network.
The National LGBT Cancer Network
The National LGBT Cancer Network works to improve the lives of LGBT cancer survivors and those at risk by: EDUCATING the LGBT community about our increased cancer risks and the importance of screening and early detection; TRAINING health care providers to offer more culturally-competent, safe and welcoming care; and ADVOCATING for LGBT survivors in mainstream cancer organizations, the media and research.
ONE Archives Foundation
the independent community partner that supports the ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives at the University of Southern California (USC) Libraries, the largest repository of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer (LGBTQ) materials in the world. Founded in 1952 as ONE Inc., the publisher of ONE Magazine, the ONE Archives Foundation is the oldest active LGBTQ organization in the United States.
Parents, Families & Friends of Lesbians & Gays: PFLAG
PFLAG is a national organization with over 500 affiliate groups who promote the health and well-being of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender persons, their families and friends through: support, to cope with an adverse society; education, to enlighten an ill-informed public; and advocacy, to end discrimination and to secure equal civil rights.
Services and Advocacy for Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Elders: SAGE
SAGE has been the leading force in the LGBT aging field since the organization was founded in 1978. As the oldest and largest organization of its kind in the world, SAGE provides the most expansive and robust service programs for LGBT older people as well as the most reliable, long-standing and visible advocacy platform from which to articulate the needs of this critically under-served population.
The Trevor Project
The Trevor Project is the leading national organization focused on crisis and suicide prevention efforts among lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and questioning (LGBTQ) youth.
The Williams Institute
The Williams Institute advances sexual orientation law and public policy through rigorous, independent research and scholarship, and disseminates it to judges, legislators, policymakers, media and the public. A national think tank at UCLA Law, the Williams Institute produces high quality research with real-world relevance.
The World Professional Association for Transgender Health: WPATH
WPATH is an international multidisciplinary professional Association whose mission is to promote evidence based care, education, research, advocacy, public policy and respect in transgender health.