Skip to main content

Manuscripts & Archives: Resumption of Services Following COVID-19 Closure: Digitization Services Information

This guide provides up-to-date information about the phased resumption of services for researchers in Manuscripts & Archives.

General Information about Current Digitization Services

As of Wednesday, July 22, 2020, reaffirmed on Wednesday, August 26, 2020, and for the foreseeable future, digitization efforts in Manuscripts & Archives will prioritize the following:

  1. Collection materials needed by Yale faculty for teaching Fall semester classes.
  2. Collection materials needed by Yale faculty and students for their own research projects.

In determining digitization service priorities during phased resumption of services, Patrons with a Yale NetID refers to anyone with a currently valid Yale NetID who uses it to logon to their Yale Special Collections User Account, while Non-Yale patrons refers to all others.

Current Digitization Service Information for Patrons with a Yale NetID

Patrons who logon to their Yale Special Collections User Account with a Yale NetID who wish to request digitization of Manuscripts & Archives collection materials should contact mssa.assist@yale.edu. In your email please provide very specific information on the collection(s), box(es), and folder(s) you are seeking to have digitized, and specify information regarding your need for the digitization.

Please keep in mind that for the foreseeable future we must prioritize digitization in support of Yale faculty who need the materials for Fall term 2020 courses that they are teaching. This may impact the timeline for digitization of materials for other Yale patrons with a Yale NetID who are not requesting the digitization in support of a Fall term course they are teaching.

Also, the Manuscripts & Archives reading room is open as of Monday, August 31, 2020, by appointment only to Yale students, faculty, and staff who have been approved for return to campus. See the Reading Room Services Information tab for more detailed information about visiting Manuscripts & Archives to conduct research.

Current Digitization Service Information for Non-Yale Patrons

We are unfortunately unable currently to accept digitization requests from patrons not affiliated with Yale University. We anticipate that at some point during the Fall term we will be able once again to accept digitization requests from those not affiliated with Yale, but at this point cannot specify when that may happen. Please continue to watch this space for additional information.

If we have previously digitized files in which you are interested, feel free to contact us at mssa.assist@yale.edu to request copies. If you find the following note in a record for an item or folder in Archives at Yale (Yale's database of archival collection guides), it indicates that we may have previously digitized this item or folder for another researcher and, if so, will be happy to provide you with a copy.

undefined