Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Library Special Collections: Home

Finding and using archives, manuscripts, rare books and scores, and other special collections at the Music Library.

Music Research Starting Points

Music Library Special Collections

The Gilmore Music Library is home to a wide variety of special collections materials, comprising the Historic Sound Recordings Collection, the Oral History of American Music, and the Gilmore Music Library’s special collections. These collections include rare manuscripts, books, and scores, as well as the papers of notable composers, performers, scholars, and organizations; a wealth of sound recordings from the earliest cylinders to current technology, and a vast library of oral histories taken with notable figures from all areas of American Music. Familiar names to be found in these collections include Benny Goodman, Virgil Thomson, Charles Ives, Robert Shaw, and Vladimir Horowitz, among many others.  

Because of the pandemic, our special collections are currently open only to Yale students in residence, faculty, and staff. When circumstances return to normal, they will again become available to researchers from around the world.

Also because of the pandemic, researchers will now use our special collections in the Manuscripts & Archives Reading Room (just down the hall from the Music Library in Sterling Memorial Library). For information about services in the MSSA Reading Room (and to reserve a seat), see their guide.

Music Library staff are available to advise researchers; contact us at musicspecialcollections@yale.edu.

Many Yale libraries have special collections. For general information, see this guide.

Research Archivist

Richard Boursy's picture
Richard Boursy
Contact:
Gilmore Music Library
Sterling Memorial Library
Virtual office hours: 8-30 AM–5:00 PM

Music Librarian for Reference and Instruction

Suzanne Lovejoy's picture
Suzanne Lovejoy
Contact:
Music Library, Sterling Memorial Library
Virtual office hours 8:30 a.m. - 6 p.m. weekdays
(203) 432-0497
Subjects:Music