Yale University Library Research Guides: Getting Started with Refinitiv Workspace : Datastream on RWS

About Datastream

Datastream is a financial database featuring time series data for stocks, bonds, commodities, and other economic indicators.

Terminal-based access to Datastream is no longer available.

Refintiv Datastream data is available through the following platforms:

1. Refinitiv Workspace (RWS) for Students and Refinitiv Excel add-in

Currently enrolled students and faculty at Yale can access Datastream on the Refinitiv Workspace platform and the Refinitiv Excel add-in for academic research projects. To request Datastream access on RWS, please complete this form.

2. Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)

Datastream and Refinitiv ESG Data are now available on WRDS.

Live online training

Accessing historical data using Refinitiv Datastream
A live session that covers how to access Datastream using both Refinitiv Workspace and Excel. This class will serve as an introduction to accessing historical time-series or static data for securities or economic indicators.

On-demand training videos

Getting Started with Datastream Navigator
This video provides an introduction to Navigator and how to access it. It also covers multiple approaches for finding series, working with the Advanced Search function, creating lists and user-created indices, and finding datatypes.

Charting

Getting Started with Datastream Charting
Covers how to create a simple chart, using the data library, and applying datatypes, currencies, functions, and more.
Datastream Charting: Customizing Chart Settings
Covers chart, line, legend, and axis settings.
Datastream Charting: Static Bar Charts
Covers how to create a static bar chart, setting dates, changing the layout, and more

Datastream for Office (DFO)

Datastream for Office: Using Request Tables
Provides an introduction to DFO and how to create simple request tables.
Retrieving and Analyzing Data in Excel
Covers how to create static and times series requests in Excel. This video was made using an older version of DFO, but the process and steps remain the same.

Email Me

Contact:

Marx Science and Social Science Library
Yale University Library
219 Prospect Street - Concourse Level

Meet with a Business Librarian

Subjects: Business and Management