Yale University Library Research Guides: United States Election 2024: Home

FAQ for voters

► Who can vote in US elections?

US citizens who are eighteen or older on or by Election Day, and who are registered to vote. There may be additional restrictions, depending on the state in which you are registered. Visit this page to find out more about who is eligible to vote in the United States: https://www.usa.gov/who-can-vote

► Am I registered to vote?

Check your voter registration status here: https://www.vote.org/am-i-registered-to-vote/

► How do I register to vote?

You can register online, by mail, or in person at your local election office. Register online here: https://www.usa.gov/register-to-vote

► What if I'm out of the country/state where I'm registered on Election Day?

Find out about absentee voting and vote-by-mail options here: https://www.usa.gov/absentee-voting

► What kind of ID do I need when I go to vote?

Find out about your state's voter ID laws here: https://ballotpedia.org/Voter_identification_laws_by_state

► More questions about voting in the US? Check out these sites:

Vote.org
Voting & elections at USA.gov
Voting At Yale

US Election Data

Databases

Associated Press Collection Online
Associated Press Collections Online includes decades' worth of access to an array of internal AP publications and records from select AP bureaus. Contents provided by Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive.
Gale in Context: US History
Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America all to the way to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror. Content includes reference works, millions of news and periodical articles, and more than 5,000 rare and vital primary source documents that range from slave journals to presidential papers.
ProQuest Congressional Publications
ProQuest congressional publications is a collection of historic and current congressional information. Includes full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, public laws and other research materials. Researchers can access information about members of Congress, including their biographical and committee assignment information, voting records, and financial data.
U.S. Newsstream
Recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic libraries, US Newsstream offers access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal. Offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.