Skip to main content

AFAM 413/AMST 448/THST 420/WGSS 415: Samuel Delany and His Worlds: Home

This guide is intended for students in Professor Tavia Nyong'o's course and provides an overview of key resources in the Yale Library for writing your research proposals this semester.

Reference works

Scholarly encyclopedias, handbooks, bibliographies, and other reference works are a great place to start and provide helpful overviews of/citations to the relevant scholarship.


Cambridge Core

Includes key reference series such as the Cambridge Companions and Cambridge Histories. Individual titles include The Cambridge Companion to American Science Fiction.


Oxford African American Studies Center


Oxford Bibliographies

A large collection of annotated bibliographies - e.g., "Science Fiction Film Theory and Criticism."


Oxford Handbooks Online

Often a helpful starting point. Books here include The Oxford Handbook of Science Fiction.


Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History


Wiley Online Library

Secondary sources

And, don’t forget, Orbis and Books+ are both important tools for locating secondary sources!

Citing your sources

Documenting the sources you use in your research paper is a key part of the research and writing process. Complete and accurate citations to the books, journal articles, primary sources, and other items you use will allow readers to verify your sources and explore them further if they'd like to learn more about the issues you've raised.

In the field of literature, the standard citation style is the MLA (Modern Language Association) Style:

Contact information

James Kessenides, Kaplanoff Librarian for American History, james.kessenides@yale.edu