Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For information about visitor access, see COVID-19 library updates..

AFAM S312 / AMST S310 / ER&M S312 / WGSS S312: Geographies of Freedom: Race, Space, and Gender in the Caribbean: Home

This page is intended for students in Dr. Fadila Habchi's course and provides an overview of resources in the Yale Library for your research papers this summer.

Yale Library Search Tools

The main search tools for finding books, articles, databases, archival collections, and more at Yale (and beyond) can all be found on the "Find, Request, and Use" page of the library's website. Here are a few quick refreshers, but be sure to visit the page for a full overview:

Get It @ Yale

Get It @ Yale brings together three services of the Yale Library that greatly facilitate research work: Borrow Direct, Interlibrary Loan, and Scan & Deliver. Borrow Direct will furnish rapid delivery of titles from a small group of partner libraries if the book isn't available at Yale. Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a larger library partnership that can provide scans of journal articles that aren't available at Yale as well as loans of physical items such as books and microforms. Scan & Deliver will fulfill requests to have journal articles, book chapters, and limited pages from microforms held in the Yale Library scanned by members of the library staff and provided to you electronically. All of the Get It @ Yale services help to make your research more efficient, so please don't hesitate to use them or to reach out with any questions about them as you work on your essay!

Finding resources beyond Yale

Library contact

James Kessenides, Kaplanoff Librarian for American History - james.kessenides@yale.edu

Yale Library Subject Specialists and Subject Guides

Don't hesitate to reach out to a subject specialist to schedule a research consultation or for assistance finding resources for your research!

Background sources

Background or "reference" sources are a great place to start your research. Reference works include bibliographies, scholarly encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other sources that provide overviews of topics and suggestions for further reading.


Oxford African American Studies Center

This resource brings together articles from multiple encyclopedias and historical dictionaries.


Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History
A scholarly encyclopedia. Each article has a discussion of the literature, including primary sources -- often a great starting point for finding more sources.


Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History

* Browse articles on the history of the Caribbean


Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Literature


Oxford Bibliographies
An extensive collection of annotated bibliographies often pointing to both primary and secondary sources. Numerous articles in a variety of subject modules touch on the Caribbean, such as:

"The Caribbean" by Gad Heuman (Atlantic History module)

"Gender in the Caribbean" by Christine Walker (Atlantic History module)

"The Caribbean Philosophical Association" by Nelson Maldonado-Torres and Lewis Gordon (Latin American Studies module)

"Caribbean" by Aisha Khan (Anthropology module)


Cambridge Core

Link to the general collections of Cambridge University Press, including the Cambridge Histories and Cambridge Companions.


Oxford Handbooks Online
Lengthy chapters in the Oxford Handbooks usually provide helpful overviews of scholarly topics and historical literature, along with suggestions for further reading. A number of the handbooks may be helpful depending on your research topic.


Wiley Online Library

A large collection of resources. The Wiley Companions will be especially useful. Navigate to "Humanities" and then "History" in order to find a detailed listing of titles by subfield.

Secondary sources

The following databases will be helpful for finding secondary sources, especially scholarly/peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, book reviews, and citations to book chapters and edited collections of books. Please note: the full text of articles will not always be available in these databases. If you see the "YaleLinks" icon instead of a PDF, click on the icon to discover whether we have online access to the article: 

And, don’t forget, Orbis, Books+ and Articles+ are all useful tools for locating secondary sources!

Primary source databases

Most of the following are Yale-licensed resources - click here for more information about accessing e-resources remotely:

Archives at Yale

The search portal for finding archival collections at Yale is Archives at Yale, which allows you to search the finding aids to thousands of collections that are held by the Library's special collections units

Beinecke Library, Manuscripts and Archives (located within Sterling), and the other special collections units within the Yale Library are currently open for research to Yale-affiliated students, faculty, and staff.  For more information and general help with navigating Yale's special collections, please consult the Guide to Using Special Collections at Yale University.

Most of Yale’s archival collections are stored off-site and must be requested in advance. You can make those requests directly in the finding aid for materials in most Yale University Library special collections. If a request cannot be made directly via the finding aid, a note in Archives at Yale will indicate whom to contact to access the materials.

Films