Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

AMST 314 / ER&M 314 / WGSS 306: Gender and Transgender: Introduction to Transgender Studies: Home

This guide is intended for students in Professor Greta LaFleur's course and provides an overview of key resources in the Yale Library for your Wikipedia projects and final papers this semester.

Main search portals

Related guides

Library contacts

James Kessenides, Kaplanoff Librarian for American History - james.kessenides@yale.edu

Reference

Background or "reference" sources are a great place to start your research. Reference works include bibliographies, scholarly encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other sources that provide overviews of topics and suggestions for further reading.


Oxford Bibliographies
An extensive collection of annotated bibliographies often pointing to both primary and secondary sources. Examples of potentially helpful articles include the following:

"Non-normative Sexuality Studies" by Ahonaa Roy

"LGBT Social Movements" by Amy L. Stone and Sarah Davis

"Transgender Media Studies" by matthew heinz 


Oxford Handbooks Online
Lengthy chapters in the Oxford Handbooks usually provide helpful overviews of topics and historiography and suggestions for further reading. Examples of potentially useful volumes include The Oxford Handbook of American Women's and Gender History and The Oxford Handbook of Feminist Theory.


Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History
A scholarly encyclopedia with articles that always include a discussion of the literature, including primary sources. Articles include "LGBTQ Politics in America since 1945" by Emily K. Hobson.


Wiley Online Library
This resource includes scholarly journal articles and monographs as well as reference works. Often a single chapter or two within a reference work can provide a helpful starting point for research. For instance, in the Companion to Women's and Gender Studies, the chapter "Trans Studies" by Cristina Khan and Kolbe Franklin provides an overview of scholarship in the field, followed by a long list of references.

Secondary sources

The following bibliographic databases will be helpful for finding secondary sources, especially scholarly/peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, book reviews, and citations to book chapters and edited collections of books. Please note: the full text of articles will not always be available in these databases. If you see the "YaleLinks" icon instead of a PDF, click on the icon to discover whether we have online access to the article: 

And, don’t forget, Orbis, Books+ and Articles+ are all useful tools for locating secondary sources!

Selected primary source databases

Click here for more information about accessing Yale-licensed resources remotely:

----------

Selected collections from the Archives of Sexuality and Gender:

----------

Archives at Yale

Archival materials here at Yale that may be of interest include the Laura Bailey Collection of Gender and Transgender Materials at the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library and additional collections that are described in the Manuscripts and Archives Guide to Collections on Sexuality (Manuscripts and Archives is located in Sterling Memorial Library). The Beinecke, Manuscripts and Archives, and other special collections units within the Yale Library are currently open for research to Yale-affiliated students, faculty, and staff by appointment only. Appointments must be made using an online appointment system at least 24 hours in advance. For more information and general help with navigating Yale's special collections please consult the Guide to Using Special Collections at Yale University.