Skip to main content

HIST J 166a / AMST 410b / WGSS 409: Asian American Women and Gender History: 1830-Present: Home

Main search portals

This guide is intended for students in Professor Mary Lui's course and provides an overview of key resources in the Yale Library for writing your research papers this semester.

General resources

Background or "reference" sources are a great place to start in building your bibliographies. These are scholarly encyclopedias, handbooks, bibliographies, and similar sources that will often contain lengthy essays with background information on a topic and overviews of the relevant scholarship. Citations to the secondary literature will always be included, and often so too will citations to primary sources.

Cambridge Core

Includes key reference series such as the Cambridge Companions and Cambridge Histories. Individual titles include The Cambridge Companion to Transnational American Literature and The Cambridge Companion to Asian American Literature.


A Companion to Asian American Studies

This collection brings together 20 essays central to defining the field of Asian American Studies.


A Companion to Korean American Studies

Examples of chapters include "Korean Produce Retailers in New York: Their Conflicts with White Distributors and Use of Ethnic Collective Actions" and "Koreatown as Political Capital."


Oxford Bibliographies

An extensive collection of annotated bibliographies often pointing to both primary and secondary sources. Examples of articles include "Asian American Cinema" (Cinema and Media Studies module), "History of Cross-Country Adoption and Fostering" (Childhood Studies module), "Settler Colonialism" (Anthropology module), "Settler Colonialism" (Literary and Critical Theory module), and "Vietnam War Literature" (American Literature module).


The Oxford Handbook of Asian American History

Lengthy chapters provide overviews of the historiography and suggestions for further reading. Examples of chapters include "A History of Asian International Adoption in the United States" and "Empire and War in Asian American History."


Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History

Arranged by subfields such as 20th Century: Post-1945, 20th Century: Pre-1945, Asian American History, Late 19th-Century History, the articles here are informative with substantial discussion of the historical literature and suggestions for further reading. Examples of articles included in the encyclopedia are "Asian Americans and the 1992 Los Angeles Riots/Uprising" and "Memorializing Incarceration: The Japanese American Experience in World War II and Beyond."


Wiley Online Library

Includes A Companion to Asian American Studies, Asian American Studies After Critical Mass, A Companion to 19th-Century America, A Companion to 20th-Century Americaand other potentially useful reference works in which the chapters will provide overviews of topics and suggestions for further reading.

Librarian for American History

James Kessenides's picture
James Kessenides
Contact:
james.kessenides@yale.edu

Off-campus access

To access Yale resources from off-campus, you will need to use the University's Virtual Private Network (VPN).