Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COVID-19 UPDATE

Yale libraries will be closed Nov. 25 – Jan. 5. Online services and access to library materials will continue. See COVID-19 library updates.

HIST J 166a / AMST 410b / WGSS 409: Asian American Women and Gender History: 1830-Present: Primary Sources

Primary source databases

An asterisk indicates Yale-licensed resources that require access via the Yale network.

Historical newspapers and magazines:


Digitized collections with several types of documents (books, correspondence, newspapers, etc.):

General web resources

Archives at Yale

The search portal for finding archival collections at Yale is Archives at Yale.

Archives at Yale allows you to search the finding aids to thousands of archival collections that are held by several special collections units that are part of the Yale Library.

Most of Yale’s archival collections are stored off-site and must be requested at least a day in advance. You can make those requests directly in the finding aid for materials in most Yale University Library special collections. If a request cannot be made directly via the finding aid, a note in Archives at Yale will indicate whom to contact to access the materials.  Please note not all materials you may find in Archives at Yale are open for research. See the Guide to Using Special Collections at the Yale University Library for general contact information and usage policies.

Just remember, not all archival material available at Yale is in Archives at Yale. If a collection is less than three boxes, there may simply be an Orbis record for it.  You can go to the Advanced Search in Orbis and limit the “Location” to a specific special collection, or limit the “Type” to Archives or Manuscripts. Some archival materials might be recently acquired and not in any catalog or database. If you think that is the case, ask a librarian, curator, or archivist for assistance.

The following overviews of some of Yale's special collections provide a helpful starting point too:

ArchiveGrid