Scholarly encyclopedias, handbooks, bibliographies, and other reference works are a great place to start and provide helpful overviews of/citations to the relevant scholarship.
Includes key reference series such as the Cambridge Companions and Cambridge Histories. Individual titles include The Cambridge History of Capitalism, Volumes One and Two and The Cambridge World History of Slavery: Vol. 4, AD 1804-AD 2016.
A large collection of annotated bibliographies arranged by subject. Includes several potentially useful articles such as "Emancipation" (Atlantic History module), "Empires and Colonialism" (Sociology module), "Settler Colonialism" (Anthropology module), and "Settler Colonialism" (Literary and Critical Theory module).
Includes articles such as "Women and Patriarchy in Early America, 1600-1800," "Ideas of Race in Early America," "Late 19th-Century U.S. Indian Policy," and "Women, Militarized Domesticity, and Transnationality in the U.S. Occupation of Okinawa."
Includes many reference works such as A Companion to African American History, A Companion to American Indian History, A Companion to the History of American Science, and The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Cultural Geography.
Yale Library licenses many collections of digitized historical materials that may be helpful, depending on your research topic. Here are just a few examples:
The search portal for finding archival collections at Yale is Archives at Yale.
Archives at Yale allows you to search the finding aids to thousands of archival collections that are held by several special collections units that are part of the Yale Library.
Most of Yale’s archival collections are stored off-site and must be requested at least a day in advance. You can make those requests directly in the finding aid for materials in most Yale University Library special collections. If a request cannot be made directly via the finding aid, a note in Archives at Yale will indicate whom to contact to access the materials. Please note not all materials you may find in Archives at Yale are open for research. See the Guide to Using Special Collections at the Yale University Library for general contact information and usage policies.
Just remember, not all archival material available at Yale is in Archives at Yale. If a collection is less than three boxes, there may simply be an Orbis record for it. You can go to the Advanced Search in Orbis and limit the “Location” to a specific special collection, or limit the “Type” to Archives or Manuscripts. Some archival materials might be recently acquired and not in any catalog or database. If you think that is the case, ask a librarian, curator, or archivist for assistance.
The following overviews of some of Yale's special collections provide a helpful starting point too: