Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives at Yale: Staff Training: Home

Using the new public user interface for Yale Special Collections

Intro

Welcome to Archives at Yale!

Archives at Yale uses ArchivesSpace - an open source web application for managing archives information. It is designed by archivists and supported by diverse archival repositories. Institutions who use ArchivesSpace include HarvardMiddlebury CollegeDePaul UniversityUniversity of Virginia, University of Edinburgh, and many more. 

Data points

You will notice that Archives at Yale is very different from YFAD. This is because each element of a collection (box, folder, item, etc.) is represented by a data point. Another way to think about this is that each element of a collection has its own URL. This structure allows you to easily search across YUL repositories. It also means that you must navigate through the data points - you may find yourself "clicking" more often to find what you are looking for.

Breadcrumb trails

Locate the "breadcrumbs" in the interface. These will help orient you as you navigate Archives at Yale. Note that the breadcrumbs are linked, so you can return to previous points in your search.

Screen shot: breadcrumb example 1

About Staff Training and Documentation for Archives at Yale

Staff training and support for Archives at Yale, including maintenance of this LibGuide, is managed by the Yale Archival Management Systems committee (YAMS). For assistance with any staff training or documentation needs, please contact YAMS' training liaison, Christy Tomecek, at christy.tomecek@yale.edu 

Archives at Yale training and documentation materials were originally created by the Staff Training and Documentation Workgroup of the ArchivesSpace PUI Project. The members of the Staff Training and Documentation Workgroup for the rollout of Archives at Yale are:

Emily DiLeo (Music Library), chair

Christopher Anderson (Divinity Library)

Ève Bourbeau-Allard (Beinecke Library)

Michael Brenes (MSSA)

Jana Krentz (DASHRS)

 

Changes to Archives at Yale

Because ArchivesSpace is an open source tool, we can make modifications to the interface to suit the needs of YUL repositories. Changes will be communicated to YUL staff by the YAMS (Yale Archival Management Systems) committee.