Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
At this time, Yale libraries are open to current faculty, staff, and students; IDs are required for entrance. Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Archives at Yale: Staff Training: Publishing Finding Aids

Using the new public user interface for Yale Special Collections

nota bene

PLEASE NOTE! During the soft-launch of Archives at Yale, its predecessor, the Yale Finding Aid Database (YFAD), will remain in operation. The two systems will be available to the public, but they will not synch automatically. If your repository wishes to keep YFAD up-to-date with new content, it will need to continue loading EAD files manually, following existing workflows.

Screencast

Please note that this screencast was recorded in the spring of 2018, before several cosmetic and functional changes were made to the public user interface. MOST IMPORTANTLY: It is now possible to publish and unpublish at lower levels of description than collection, as explained in the Publishing Archival Records page. For every record below the collection level that has child records (series, subseries, file headings), two new functions have been implemented in August 2018: 

  1. "Publish this and all chidren"
  2. "Unpublish all children"

Intro

 

The Archives at Yale public interface connects directly to the staff side of ArchivesSpace. This makes publishing and editing finding aids an easy, breezy process - new content will display to the public within minutes!

However, there are a few important things to know to ensure that the Archives at Yale interface and the staff interface are properly synced:

  1. Check your account's default settings for publishing content. 
  2. Use the publishing buttons to display new finding aids.
  3. Determine which metadata fields become visible to the public, and which remain internal.
  4. Edit content and add new components to published finding aids.
  5. Verify your finding aids meet the requirements for Archives at Yale to generate a PDF version.

These topics are all covered in the drop-down menu under the tab "Publishing in Archives at Yale".