It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Offers images of original (primary source) documents taken from libraries and archives around the world including correspondence, diaries, literature and illustrations. Includes essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies. Covers a range of topics and includes Africa, the Americans, Australasia, Oceania and South Asia. Includes documents published between 1492-1969.
The collection includes primary source documents on Middle Eastern politics, culture, and history from 1812 through 1969, and covers the following countries: Afghanistan, Egypt, Sudan, Persia, Suez Canal, Turkey, Jordan, Arabia, Iraq, Lebanon, Israel, Palestine, and Syria. Documents in the collection include telegrams, treaties, reports, correspondence, and other materials from the Foreign and Colonial Offices of the British government.
The collection consists of the personal accounts of 134 individuals who played major roles in or were eyewitnesses to important political events in Iran from the 1920s to the 1980s. Of these, 118 narratives have been digitized and are available to researchers through this database. The collection provides scholars and practitioners the opportunity to listen to and read the personal accounts of many of Iran's former political leaders as they recall the times and events that shaped their lives and the life of their country.
Provides data on the policies, economies, political relationships and significant events in Middle East countries. The documents are sourced from the UK National Archives, and include analyses, annual reviews and diplomatic correspondence.
Find Primary Sources in the Catalog
Collections of primary sources provided by the Yale libraries will often be listed in Quicksearch under subject words combined with such terms as "Sources," "Early works to 1800," "Correspondence," "Interviews," or "Personal narratives." For example, the search middle east sources produces results including:
This primary source-rich volume offers researchers an invaluable look into the key events that have shaped this dynamic region since World War I. Organized into thematic chapters, and loaded with both full-text and excerpted primary source documents, The Contemporary Middle East is designed to be an accessible support for courses in Middle Eastern history, international affairs, and comparative politics.
Provides a wide range of original source material from the UK Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974. Here major policy statements are set out in their fullest context, the minor documents and marginalia revealing the workings of the mandate administration, diplomacy, treaties, oil and arms dealing.