Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Ancient Jewish Archaeology: Digital Resources & Databases

Find Databases by Title



Databases

Atla Religion Database (Atla RDB) with AtlaSerials (Atlas)

Produced by Atla, a membership association of collectors and connectors in religion and theology, this database combines the premier indexing from Atla Religion Database® (Atla RDB®) with AtlaSerials® (Atlas®), one of Atla's online full-text collections of major religion and theology journals. Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials provides coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for several journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope.

Digital Archaeological Atlas of the Holy Land

A comprehensive database of archaeological sites with maps, photographs and artifacts.

Inscriptions of Israel/Palestine

An internet-accessible database of published inscriptions dating between ca. 500BCE and 614CE together with contextual information.

Jewish Digital Collections

Compiled by Diane Romm, this is an annotated list of over 350 sites that house digitized collections of Jewish material divided into 22 subject areas (including, but not limited to, Hebrew manuscripts, Jewish history, and Jewish art).

Jewish Encyclopedia

The online Jewish Encyclopedia contains the complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906. The Jewish Encyclopedia, which recently became part of the public domain, contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations. This online version contains the unedited contents of the original encyclopedia. Since the original work was completed almost 100 years ago, it does not cover a significant portion of modern Jewish History (e.g., the creation of Israel, the Holocaust, etc.). However, it does contain an incredible amount of information that is remarkably relevant today.

Jewish Virtual Library

Full-text encyclopedic database of Jewish history, politics, and religion, arranged in multiple formats --research starters, primary archival documents, factual analyses, timelines, maps, publications such as "Myths and Facts," and images.

Oxford Biblical Studies Online

Oxford Biblical Studies Online provides a comprehensive resource for the study of the Bible and biblical history. The integration of authoritative scholarly texts and reference works with tools that provide ease of research into the background, context, and issues related to the Bible make Oxford Biblical Studies Online a valuable resource not only for college students, scholars, and clergy, but also anyone in need of an authoritative, ecumenical, and up-to-date resource. Easy to search and navigate, this site offers a ready access point for a wealth of Bible text and commentary—including the New Oxford Annotated Bible and five other popular Oxford Study Bibles—under the direction of a team of esteemed scholars headed by Editor in Chief Michael D. Coogan.

 

Oxford Bibliographies

Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.

The Jewish Encyclopedia

The online Jewish Encyclopedia contains the complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906. The Jewish Encyclopedia, which recently became part of the public domain, contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations. This online version contains the unedited contents of the original encyclopedia. Since the original work was completed almost 100 years ago, it does not cover a significant portion of modern Jewish History (e.g., the creation of Israel, the Holocaust, etc.). However, it does contain an incredible amount of information that is remarkably relevant today.