Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Ancient Jewish Archaeology: Internet Resources

undefined

Mosaic depicting Jonah being swallowed by a fish, Huquoq synagogue.

Digital Resources

Biblical Archaeology Society Library

Full text of Biblical Archaeology Review, Bible Review, Archaeology Odyssey, the New Encyclopedia of Archaeological Excavations in the Holy Land (2008), and other BAS publications.

Google Scholar

A freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

Holy Land Photos

At present, this site provides high resolution photos of over 370 sites, principally in Greece, Israel, Jordan and Turkey.

Israel Antiquities Authority

Provides resources on current archaeological excavations, the Dead Sea Scrolls, and various collections and archives.

Israel Ministry of Foreign Affairs: Index of Archaeological Sites in Israel

An extensive list of archaeological sties an Israel, complete with photos and descriptions of excavations and finds.

Orion Center for the Study of the Dead Sea Scrolls and Related Literature

Provides a fascinating virtual tour of the Kh. Qumran site with reconstruction of the ancient buildings, background material, extensive bibliographies, and links to articles available online.

Second-Temple Synagogues

Serves as an internet companion to the book Into the Courts; The Place of the Synagogues in the Second Temple Period (Atlanta: The Society of Biblical Literature, 1999). Includes an image gallery of Second-Temple synagogue remains and inscriptions, a literary archive, and a massive resource library.

The Temple Mount in Jerusalem

Provides wide-ranging evidence for the exact location of the Temple on Mount Moriah, with links to maps, reconstructions, histories of Jerusalem and other sites of interest.

The Virtual World Project: Exploring the Ancient World Through Virtual Reality

Presents interactive virtual tours of a substantial number of archaeological sites in Israel and Jordan.