Yale University Library Research Guides: AFAM 201 / RLST 101: Politics of Black Religion: Secondary sources

Bibliographic databases

Bibliographic databases are helpful for finding secondary sources, especially scholarly/peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, book reviews, and citations to book chapters and edited collections of books. Please note: the full text of articles will not always be available in these databases. If you see the "YaleLinks" icon instead of a PDF, click on the icon to discover whether we have online access to the article.

America: History and Life
Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus
ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS provides coverage extending back into the 19th century. ATLAS PLUS offers users access to a growing list of more than 450 full-text titles, including all of the full-text titles in ATLASerials (ATLAS).
International Index to Black Periodicals: IIBP Full Text
IIBP Full Text includes bibliographic citations and abstracts from scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean. It also includes full-text coverage of core Black studies periodicals (1998 to present). Coverage is international and multidisciplinary in scope, spanning cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues relevant to the Black studies discipline.
Race Relations Abstracts
Race Relations Abstracts provides bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, such as ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, ideology, community relations, radicalism, cultural identity, and advocacy groups. It abstracts content from academic journals, books, periodicals and newspapers relevant to this field of study.
Religious and Theological Abstracts
Provides summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of religion and theology.

Orbis & Quicksearch

And, don’t forget, Orbis, Books+ and Articles+ are all important tools for locating secondary sources!

AFAM 201 / RLST 101: Politics of Black Religion: Secondary sources

Bibliographic databases

Orbis & Quicksearch

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries