Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AFAM 201 / RLST 101: Politics of Black Religion: Primary sources

This guide is intended for students in Professor Nicole Turner's course and provides an overview of key resources in the Yale Library for your research assignments this semester.

Digital archives

Newspaper and Periodical Databases

Archives at Yale

Archives at Yale is the search portal for finding archival materials in one of Yale’s special collections repositories, including Manuscripts and Archives (Sterling Library) and the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library. Digitization of special collections materials has resumed, with priority being given to requests supporting fall semester teaching and research at Yale. Special collections reading rooms will be open by appointment for current Yale faculty, staff authorized to work on campus, graduate and professional students, and undergraduates enrolled in residence, who have completed the required quarantine and waiting periods. Please check our Library Reopening FAQ for continuing updates on access to special collections.

Orbis & Quicksearch

And, don’t forget, you can often find primary sources when searching Orbis and Quicksearch and request scans of print materials in the general collections via Scan and Deliver.