Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AFAM 216 / FILM 433: Family Narratives/Cultural Shifts: Home

This guide is intended for students in Professor Thomas Allen Harris's course and provides an overview of key resources in the Yale Library for your midterm and final papers this semester.

Main search portals

Hathi Trust Emergency Temporary Access Service

Hathi Trust’s Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS) provides online access to in-copyright books in the Yale Library collection.  Catalog records for ETAS items can be found through Quicksearch and Orbis. If you’re already using the Yale VPN, you can click on the “Log In” link at the top of any Hathi Trust page and select Yale from the drop-down menu (if you access Hathi Trust without using the VPN, you will initially receive a prompt to use Duo Multi-Factor Authentication in order to access the database first).

A short video on the Hathi Trust ETAS can be found here, and a library guide here.

Internet Archive

Catalog records for e-books from the Internet Archive can be found through Orbis and Quicksearch. The Internet Archive is currently making books in its collection available to one borrower at a time. To use the Internet Archive, borrowers will need to create an Internet Archive account.

Scan and Deliver & Interlibrary Loan

The library now offers limited Scan & Deliver service. However, turnaround time for these services may be significantly delayed, and the fulfillment of Interlibrary Loan scan requests is dependent on our partner libraries. We ask that you prioritize requesting items that are the most urgent for your research. At this time, BorrowDirect and physical interlibrary loan services are suspended until further notice.

 

Library contacts

James Kessenides, Kaplanoff Librarian for American History, james.kessenides@yale.edu

Camila Zorrilla Tessler, Archivist, Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library, camila.tessler@yale.edu

Reference

Background or "reference" sources are a great place to start your research. Reference works include bibliographies, scholarly encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other sources that provide overviews of topics and suggestions for further reading; often they cite not only the secondary literature, but also primary sources.

Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics across varied subject areas. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Examples of articles include "New African Diaspora" by Heike Raphael-Hernandez (African American Studies module) and "Critical Media Theory" by Kevin Glynn (Cinema and Media Studies module).

Scholarly Journal Articles

Bibliographic databases are helpful for finding secondary sources, especially scholarly/peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, book reviews, and citations to book chapters and edited collections of books. Please note: the full text of articles will not always be available in these databases. If you see the "YaleLinks" icon instead of a PDF, click on the icon to discover whether we have online access to the article. 


And, don’t forget, Orbis, Books+ and Articles+ are all important tools for locating secondary sources!

Digital Archives

A selection of primary source databases where you can find materials relating to social movements for your research this semester:

Provides access to primary source, cross-searchable, full-text, full-image documents relating to 19th and 20th-century U.S. history. Collections are organized into the following modules:
- Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle: Includes Mary McLeod Bethune's scrapbooks (29 vols.), which can be found within the Mary McLeod Bethune Papers: The Bethune Foundation Collection, Part 1
- Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War
- American Indians and the American West
- American Politics and Society
- International Relations and Military Conflicts