This database combines primary and secondary sources. The main modules within the database are the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience (including Schomburg Essays), Journals, Newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.
Includes the Cambridge Histories and Cambridge Companions.
Temporary online access via the Hathi Trust Digital Library's Emergency Temporary Access Service.
Comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture, coupled with precise search and browse capabilities.
Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics across varied subject areas. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies can be browsed by subject area and searched by keyword. Subject areas include African American Studies, African Studies, Anthropology, Art History, Cinema and Media Studies, Literary and Critical Theory, Political Science, Sociology, and more.
Includes numerous handbooks, usually with lengthy chapter overviews of topics. A few examples of titles that are part of the collection are The Oxford Handbook of African American Theology, The Oxford Handbook of African American Citizenship, 1865-Present, and The Oxford Handbook of the African American Slave Narrative.
Provides full text access to journals, reference works, books, and databases in multiple disciplines such as Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Cultural Studies, History, Literature, Political Science, Religion and Theology, and Sociology.
Hathi Trust’s Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS) provides online access to in-copyright books in the Yale Library collection. Catalog records for ETAS items can be found through Quicksearch and Orbis. If you’re already using the Yale VPN, you can click on the “Log In” link at the top of any Hathi Trust page and select Yale from the drop-down menu (if you access Hathi Trust without using the VPN, you will initially receive a prompt to use Duo Multi-Factor Authentication in order to access the database first).
The library now offers limited Scan & Deliver service. However, turnaround time for these services may be significantly delayed, and the fulfillment of Interlibrary Loan scan requests is dependent on our partner libraries. We ask that you prioritize requesting items that are the most urgent for your research. At this time, BorrowDirect and physical interlibrary loan services are suspended until further notice.