Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Queer Japan Web Archive: Home

Welcome to the Queer Japan Web Archive! This archive catalogues websites of organizations that research, support, advocate for and provide services to LGBTQ communities in Japan. The organizations included in the scope of the archive include social service providers, educational groups, helplines, LGBTQ-focused healthcare providers, university clubs, and organizers of LGBTQ-related events among others. For more information, see the sections below and check out our searchable database here.

QJWA

Featured Website

Other related collections

About

The Queer Japan Web Archive of the Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation is a joint initiative by librarians for Japanese Studies at Brown, Columbia, Duke, Harvard, Princeton, and Yale Universities and the University of Pennsylvania, with support from Dr. Yoshie Yanagihara (Tokyo Denki University), Dr. Tetsuyuki Shida (Waseda University), and Patrick Carland (University of Pennsylvania).  By archiving these websites, the Confederation strives to guarantee that these potentially ephemeral websites are preserved and remain browsable by researchers and scholars. 

「クィア ジャパン ウェブ アーカイブ」(日本の 多様な性(LGBTQ)に関するウェブサイトの収蔵)プロジェクトは、アイビー・プラス図書館連合の傘下で、ブラウン、コロンビア、デューク、ハーバード、プリンストン、イェール、ペンシルベニア各大学の日本研究 ライブラリアンの共同イニシアティブで運営されます。同プロジェクトは、柳原良江氏(東京電機大学)と志田哲之氏(早稲田大学)による学術的なサポートを受けて、LGBTQコミュニティの研究、権利擁護、支援、サービス提供を目的として作成されたウェブサイトの収集と保全を目指しています。同連合は、潜在的に消滅の可能性に晒されているウェブサイトの収集、保全に努め、研究者がこれらのサイトを探索可能な状態を常に維持することに、万全を期します。 

The Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation is a partnership between Brown University, the University of Chicago, Columbia University, Cornell University, Dartmouth College, Duke University, Harvard University, Johns Hopkins University, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, the University of Pennsylvania, Princeton University, Stanford University, and Yale University. The Web Resources Collection Program is an initiative of the Confederation’s Collection Development Group, under the direction of the Web Advisory Committee and the Web Resources Collection Librarian. 

アイビー・プラス図書館連合は、以下の大学のパートナシップで結ばれています。ブラウン、 シカゴ、コロンビア、コーネル、ダートマス、デューク、ハーバード、ジョンズ・ホプキン ス、マサチューセッツ工科大学, ペンシルベニア、プリンストン、スタンフォード、イェー ル。ウェブ資源収集プログラムは、ウェブ・アドバイザリー委員会とウェブ資源収集ライブラ リアンのサマンサ・エイブラムスの監督下での、同連合のコレクション構築グループのイニシアティブです。

Scope

Collection Scope (Updated: Sepember 15, 2021)

  • Websites of non-profit organizations (NPO that provide social services for LGBTQ communities throughout Japan in areas including quality of life services, real estate, employment, educational assistance, workshops, mental health services, information about sexually transmitted diseases, and legal information
  • Websites created by university students and clubs 
  • Websites about municipalities and prefectural governments that recognize same-sex partnerships (SSPs)
  • Websites relating to LGBTQ-related events including parades, local gatherings, and political protests and demonstrations

収集と保全を対象としているウェブサイト (2021年9月15日更新)

  • 非営利団体によるLGBTQコミュニティの支援、サービス提供するウェブサイト(権利擁護、生活の質向上、不動産、雇用、教育援助、ヘルプライン、 ワークショップ、メンタルヘルス、HIV / AIDSのような性感染症、そして法律関係の情報を含む)
  • 大学のLGBTQ関連のサークル
  • 同性パートナーシップ制度導入を支援する自治体のウェブサイト
  • パレードなどのLGBTQ関連イベント

Contact

To nominate a website for inclusion in the Queer Japan Web Archive, please follow this link:「クィア ジャパン ウェブ アーカイブ」に収蔵する対象のウェブサイトを、ご推薦くださる場合は、次のリンク先に提出してください。

http://tiny.cc/zf2xtz

If you have questions about the Queer Japan Web Archive, or the larger Web Collecting Program, please reach out to:「クィア ジャパン ウェブ アーカイブ」、または同連合のウェブ収集プログラムへのご質問などありましたら、どうぞこちらにご連絡ください。

japan-archive@library.columbia.edu

Project members

Curators

Chiaki Sakai (Columbia University)

Kuniko Yamada McVey (Harvard University)

Haruko Nakamura (Yale University)

Matthew Hayes (Duke University) 

Rebecca Mendelson (University of Pennsylvania)

Setsuko Noguchi (Princeton University)

Toshiyuki Minami (Brown University)

 

Advisors

Yoshie Yanagihara (Tokyo Denki University)

Tetsuyuki Shida (Waseda University)

 

Research Support

Patrick Carland (University of Pennsylvania), 2020-present

 

Artistic/Design Support

Akiyoshi Tanaka

 

Past Curators

Kris Troost (Duke University)

Sachie Noguchi (Columbia University)