Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

American Religious History: African American Religion

Reference Works

Starting Points

Archives

American Association for Ethiopian Jews Archives Online


Archives at Yale


Black Women's Suffrage Collection


Documenting the American South

The Church in the Southern Black Community

North American Slave Narratives


FBI Records: The Vault

*The Vault is the FBI's digital FOIA library containing over 6,700 documents. This archive includes hundreds of records focused on various African American religious figures and movements, including Martin Luther King, Jr., Malcolm X, Elijah Muhammed, the Nation of Islam, the Five Percenters, Father Divine, and the Moorish Science Temple of America. Try using the Search feature or browse the A-Z Index.


The Freedom Archives

Black Liberation Collection

Black Panther Party Community News Service Collection


The Library of Congress

Civil Rights History Project

Frederick Douglass Papers


The National Archives

Black Panther Party

Nation of Islam


New York Public Library Archives

Commandment Keepers Ethiopian Hebrew Congregation Records

Father Divine Collection

Moorish Science Research Collection

Moorish Science Temple of America Collection

*In-person and digital access to these collections can be obtained by applying for a temporary New York Public Library card.


Payne Theological Seminary and AME Church Archive


Presbyterian Historical Society

African American History Collection

Civil Rights, Protests, and Social Reformers Collection

Mother Bethel AME Church Collection

PCUSA African American Synods Collection