Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
At this time, Yale libraries are open to current faculty, staff, and students; IDs are required for entrance. Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

GLBL 727: Development in Crisis: Archives Session, September 22, 2021: Home

Library Special Collections and the Archives at Yale Database

The Yale Library has seven different special collections units, all of which hold archival collections in addition to rare and unique books and other published materials. Materials used in today's class session are from Manuscripts and Archives in Sterling Memorial Library. Feel free to contact Bill Landis, associate director for public services, if you have questions about finding and using materials in Manuscripts and Archives or other Yale Library special collections.

  • The Guide to Using Special Collections at Yale University is a great introduction to finding and using special collections and archives held at Yale for your research projects. 
  • The Archives at Yale database searches guides to over 8,000 archival collections held within Yale's special collections. You use this database to find and request boxes from archival collections, that you will then use in the relevant special collections reading room. Special collections materials, including archives, cannot be checked out.
  • The Primary Sources at Yale website is a great resource if you're not sure what types of materials might serve as primary sources for your research project. Be aware that archives and special collections are often not where you'll find the primary sources you need!

The following entries are for the archival collections used in the class session held in the Gates Classroom, Manuscripts and Archives, on September 22nd, 2021. 

Chester Bowles Papers (MS 628)

Link to the online finding aid in Archives at Yale for this collections

Overview: Correspondence, speeches, writings, photographs, oral history interviews, and various other types of material documenting Bowles' long career in public service. The bulk of the collection documents Bowles' career after 1942, when he assumed the position of Connecticut State Tire Rationing Administrator. After that date, the papers illuminate Bowles' varied roles as state and federal administrator, politician, diplomat, publicist and as author and consultant. The papers shed much light on a wide range of subjects, including U.S. politics, economic policy, foreign policy, U.S. foreign aid and development policies, India, U.S. relations with India, Connecticut politics, and activities of American organizations and individuals in the field of liberal politics, civil rights and other causes. There is correspondence with six U.S. Presidents, Congressmen, federal and state government officials, Prime Ministers and other officials of foreign governments, press people, and leaders of liberal U.S. groups, as well as with constituents and admirers in the general public.

Collection materials used in class session:

Part III, Series II. India and Nepal correspondence, 1951-1953.

  • Box 98, folders 319-324: Correspondence with various Government of India officials, 1951-1953
  • Box 99, folders 325-327: Correspondence with various Government of India officials, 1951-1953
  • Box 108, folders 456-462: Correspondence , memoranda, and reports relating to the Technical Cooperation Administration, India, 1951-1953
  • Box 109, folders 463-473: Correspondence , memoranda, and reports relating to the Technical Cooperation Administration, India, 1951-1953

Part VII, Series III. Special Subjects, India and U.S. Mission to India, 1963-1969.

  • Box 345, all folders: Caste--reports and clippings THROUGH Economic aid: U.S.--Bokaro Steel Mill
  • Box 346, all folders: Economic aid: U.S.--Briefing papers by State THROUGH Economic & economic development--printed material
  • Box 347, all folders: Economic & economic development--clippings THROUGH Education--printed material & clippings
  • Box 348, all folders: Family planning--memoranda & reports THROUGH Food & agriculture--memoranda, reports, background material by the U.S. Embassy staff

Part IX, Series I. Photographs and memorabilia, 1924-1969.

  • Box 373a, all folders: Photographs of India taken by the Technical Cooperation Administration photo team, 1951-1953
  • Box 375, all folders: Photographs of India, 1963-1969. Includes embassy memorial service for John F. Kennedy (1963) and the funerals of Nehru (1964) and Shastri (1966).

Douglas Ensminger Papers (MS 1315)

Link to the online finding aid in Archives at Yale for this collection

Overview: Oral history transcripts, 1971-1972, covering Ensminger's years in India, 1951-1970, as representative for the Ford Foundation. The papers also include unpublished reports and memos concerning India, 1952-1982.Note: this collection is available for research, but has been very minimally processed by archivists in Manuscripts and Archives.

Collection materials used in class session

Series II. Topics related to specific projects.

  • Box 7, all folders: Various reports, memoranda, and publications relating to Ford Foundation and other development projects in India, circa 1950s-circa 1970s

Accession 1983-M-011. Unpublished India reports.

  • Box 1, all folders: Reports, 1953-1978
  • Box 2, all folders: Reports and program letters, 1952-1973