Focuses on African American communities in Atlanta, Chicago, New York, towns and cities in North Carolina, and St. Louis largely during the second half of the 20th century. Materials include pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, oral histories, maps, and photographs.

The African American Police League was founded by African American policemen in Chicago and sought to fight racial discrimination and police brutality in the Chicago Police Department. The database is a digitized version of the manuscript collection officially archived at the Chicago History Museum. The collection is available through the ProQuest History Vault.

A large collection of thousands of rare printed materials spanning the 16th-20th centuries.

Searchable works by Black authors from the Americas, Europe and Africa. Major subject areas include Literature, Ethnic History, Colonialism, Gender Studies, Slavery, and Diaspora Studies. Includes personal narratives, autobiographies, histories, expedition reports, military reports, novels, essays, poems, and musical compositions.

"Black Thought and Culture contains 1,303 sources with 1,210 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamplets, letters and other fugitive material."

"Created from the renowned holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia, Caribbean History and Culture, 1535-1920, is the largest and most significant collection of its kind. More than 1,200 fully cataloged and searchable books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera cover the history of this broad region from the 16th century to the early 20th century. Major subject areas covered include Atlantic Studies, Diaspora Studies, Economic Studies, History of Medicine, Ethnicity and Gender Studies, Latin America and Slavery. Based on the Library Company collection that itself was an ambitious attempt to gather all printed information about this area and its history, works of all kinds are included: multi-volume histories of the region, letters, diaries, trial records, confessions, ship logs, military reports, government documents and much more."

"The Colonial State Papers offers access to over 7,000 hand-written documents and more than 40,000 bibliographic records with this incredible resource on Colonial History. In addition to Britain's colonial relations with the Americas and other European rivals for power, this collection also covers the Caribbean and Atlantic world. It is an invaluable resource for scholars of early American history, British colonial history, Caribbean history, maritime history, Atlantic trade, plantations, and slavery."

"Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere."

Digital archive of African American video oral histories. Approximately 2700 oral history interviews with African Americans from a variety of fields.

Records of speeches, reports, surveys, and analyses produced by Fisk University's Race Relations Department from 1943-1970. The Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association. The original records are housed at the Amistad Research Center in New Orleans. The materials range from interviews and statistics to educational pamphlets and administrative correspondence produced by the Department's staff, to photographs and speeches from the Annual Race Relations Institutes where participants included Charles S. Johnson, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.