Yale University Library Research Guides: ENGL 342 The Poetess and the Woman of Letters: Searching for Articles

MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography

The MLA (Modern Language Association) Bibliography is the major index for literary studies; it's updated several times throughout the year. This is a good place to begin looking for scholarship on the texts and writers covered this semester. The index includes secondary source material on the following subjects:

Modern literatures
Literary theory and criticism
Linguistics
Teaching of language
Film, television and theater
Rhetoric and composition
History of the book
Folklore

A helpful way to search the MLA Bibliography is by using the Advanced search interface to run a "Primary Subject Author" and "Primary Subject Work" search.

How to Find an Article in Articles+

More Journals for the Study of the Nineteenth Century

Journal of British Studies
Journal of British Studies (JBS), the official publication of the North American Conference on British Studies, is the critical resource for scholars of British culture from the Middle Ages to the present.
Print holdings: https://search.library.yale.edu/catalog/720930
Journal of Victorian Culture
The Journal of Victorian Culture covers all aspects of nineteenth-century society, culture, and the material world including literature, art, and performance. Print holdings: https://search.library.yale.edu/catalog/4067974
Nineteenth-Century Contexts
Scope of interest is not confined to any single regional or cultural area, and the relevance of the nineteenth centuries we read about to contemporary political flashpoints around the world remains a top priority of NCC.
Nineteenth-Century Gender Studies
Nineteenth-Century Gender Studies is a peer-reviewed, online journal committed to publishing insightful and innovative scholarship on gender studies and nineteenth-century British literature, art, and culture.
Review 19
A review journal assessing new books on English and American literature of the nineteenth century within ninety days of their publication.
Victorian Literature and Culture
Victorian Literature and Culture seeks to publish innovative scholarship of broad interest to the field. Print holdings: https://search.library.yale.edu/catalog/3384188
Victorian Studies
Features essays on topics including literature, social and political history, fine arts, science, philosophy, economics, and law. Victorian Studies is the official journal of the North American Victorian Studies Association (NAVSA), publishing an annual special issue devoted to the NAVSA conference.
Print holdings: https://search.library.yale.edu/catalog/718274

A Sample of Academic Journals for the Study of the Nineteenth Century

Bronte Studies
Journal of the Bronte Society. Online access begins with volume 27 (2002). For earlier issues, see the Bronte Society Transactions, v.11(1950)-v.26:pt.2(2001:Oct.). https://search.library.yale.edu/catalog/467344
Critical Inquiry
A peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal devoted to critical thought in the arts and humanities.Combining a commitment to rigorous scholarship with a vital concern for dialogue and debate, the journal presents articles by eminent and emerging scholars, critics, and artists on a wide variety of issues in contemporary criticism and culture.
English Literary History
Essays on all literatures in English and on cultural forms and contexts related to those literatures. Continuing a tradition that stretches back to 1934, the journal's editors balance historical, critical, and theoretical concerns in seeking to publish the very best work on English-language writing.
English literature in transition, 1880-1920
ELT publishes articles on fiction, poetry, drama, or subjects of cultural interest in the 1880–1920 period of British literature.
Genre: Forms of Discourse and Culture
Genre publishes articles that deal with questions of genre in both literary and nonliterary forms, that bring a broad range of disciplinary and interdisciplinary approaches to genre, or that consider theoretical, institutional, or political dimensions of discourse.
Volumes 1-49 are available in print: https://search.library.yale.edu/catalog/723914
19 interdisciplinary studies in the long nineteenth century
19 publishes two themed issues annually, each consisting of a collection of peer-reviewed articles showcasing the broadest range of new research in nineteenth-century studies, as well as special forums advancing critical debate in the field.

ENGL 342 The Poetess and the Woman of Letters: Searching for Articles

MLA International Bibliography

How to Find an Article in Articles+

More Journals for the Study of the Nineteenth Century

A Sample of Academic Journals for the Study of the Nineteenth Century

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries