This is a database of descriptions of archival collections at Yale, or what are known as archival "finding aids." The database searches the text of the finding aids, not of the documents in the collections themselves. Consult the various parts of the finding aids, such as Scope & Contents notes, inventories, etc., to assess the relevance of materials to your research project. A link to a PDF version of each finding aid is available in the top right corner of each page.

----------
Beyond Yale:

A search portal to archival finding aids from over 1000 institutions. Start here when you are seeking to discover if there are any relevant archival collections for your research beyond Yale. The "Summary View" option is a useful way to filter your search results. Researchers searching Archive Grid can learn about items from archival collections around the world, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and request copies. Open access resource/no login required.

Archive finder is a directory of materials from collections in the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland. It features the collections of the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC) from 1959 to the present, the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States (NIDS) and the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United Kingdom and Ireland (NIDS UK/Ireland). Records include descriptions of holdings, detailed indexes, phone and fax numbers, hours of service, materials solicited, email and home page URLs when available.

The collection consists of correspondence, diaries, legal documents, speeches, writings, printed material, photographs, and audiovisual materials that document the career of attorney Arthur Liman. The papers emphasize the 1987 Iran-Contra hearings but also document many of Liman's other professional activities, including the Attica Prison uprising investigation and the Michael Milken trial. The papers contain an extensive collection of audiotapes and videotapes featuring conversations with and interviews of Liman.

The papers document the career of Benjamin Pogrund, best known for his work as African affairs reporter, night editor, and deputy editor of the Rand Daily Mail. The collection includes Pogrund's correspondence, most notably with the activist Robert Sobukwe while Sobukwe was a political prisoner. Pogrund's writings also comprise a significant portion of the papers, particularly his extensive notes for an unfinished book on the Communist Party in South Africa from 1945 to 1960. Files documenting the Rand Daily Mail "Prisons Case," as well as prison conditions in South Africa under apartheid, comprise another important series in the collection. Finally, the papers include a large amount of collected materials regarding various groups and individuals who organized resistance to the South African government while under the apartheid system.

Materials in the Catherine Roraback collection of Ericka Huggins papers document the activities of both Catherine Roraback and Ericka Huggins during the New Haven Black Panther trials. A majority of the collection contains Catherine Roraback’s legal files related to Ericka Huggins's trial, including memoranda on prison conditions, statements, depositions, affidavits, and FBI reports. Materials belonging to Ericka Huggins includes poems, correspondence, and other writings created during her imprisonment. Communist reading material requested by Huggins such as The Selected Writings of Mao Tse-Tung (1968) are also included

This collection consists of original manuscripts, correspondence, photographs and artwork that document the long career of the African American writer Chester Himes, who began writing while incarcerated in the Ohio State Penitentiary. The manuscripts offer insight into Himes's creative process and many of them also represent the original versions and original titles for works which were later altered for publication. The bulk of the correspondence reveals Himes's relationship with the publishers and editors of his books and also offers a glimpse into the author's thoughts on his own work. The photographs and artwork document Himes's life with his family, friends and colleagues

The Harry Weinberger Papers cover Weinberger's professional career from around 1915 until the early 1940s. In that time, Weinberger handled many types of cases, but he took a special interest in people whom he believed had been deprived of their civil liberties. As a result, Weinberger defended many aliens, immigrants, anarchists, and radicals. Two of Weinberger's most celebrated clients were the anarchists Emma Goldman and Alexander Berkman. Another client of Weinberger was the wealthy draft dodger, Grover Cleveland Bergdoll. Most of Weinberger's clients were, however, neither famous nor wealthy. Many were referred to Weinberger by service agencies like the American Civil Liberties Union, the League for Amnesty of Political Prisoners, and the Worker's Defense Fund.

Manuscript and typescript letters, signed, addressed to Nina Sulzer, inmate counselor in New Orleans, Louisiana, 1966 July 27-1980 June 23. Letters are from Wilbert Rideau (of The Angolite, an inmate-edited and published magazine of the Louisiana State Penitentiary), James Bennett, Charles E. Daniels, Janice Johnston, and Isiah Hall, and discuss matters pertaining to imprisonment. Included are Sulzer's business card and identification photograph. There are manuscript notes from an interview with Rideau concerning the prison system, 1979 March 7, and a typescript copy of Rideau's resumé, circa 1980.

The papers consist of correspondence, continuing education course materials, legal pleadings, memoranda, newspaper clippings, photographs, reports, subject files, and writings that document T. F. Gilroy Daly's career as a United States District Court judge. The papers provide a comprehensive overview of Daly's career from his appointment in 1977 until his death in 1996. The materials regarding Daly's service as the chief judge of the United States District Court for the District of Connecticut from 1983 to 1988 are extensive and document the substantial administrative responsibilities of the position.