Skip to main content

English Language and Literature Research Guide: Overview

A research guide for English.

Graphic

Sidebar

The Collection

Literature in English in SML

The Sterling Memorial Library's collection of literature in English is extraordinary in both scope and depth. It includes not only literature of the United Kingdom and the United States, but also literary writings in English from Ireland, Canada, Africa, India, Australia, New Zealand, and the Caribbean. Sterling's collections in these areas are augmented by the splendid resources of the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, the Yale Center for British Art, and Sterling's Manuscripts and Archives Department, and further supported by rich holdings in English language studies and in American, British, and Commonwealth history. While the collection's strengths have usually been described as being in American literature and eighteenth- and nineteenth- century British literature, all periods are comprehensively represented. The only categories not historically collected at the research level (as defined by the Research Libraries Group) are folklore and folk literature, provincial and local literature, Native American literature, Mexican-American literature, and genre fiction. In recent years, collecting in some of these traditionally less well-represented categories (e.g., Irish literature, detective fiction) has reached the research level.

 

Types of Materials

Sterling holds relevant materials in monograph, serial, microform, and electronic formats. Literary manuscripts and archives are held by the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library. Significant microform collections, print collections, and online databases include:

Online Databases

Collections of Related Materials at Yale

Librarian for Literature in English, Comparative Literature, and Linguistics

Todd Gilman's picture
Todd Gilman
Contact:
Sterling Memorial Library

130 Wall Street

PO Box 208240

New Haven, CT 06520-8240

(203)-432-1761 (office phone)